MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT, GREAT LAKES, AND ENERGY AIR QUALITY DIVISION

June 23, 2023

PERMIT TO INSTALL 80-23

ISSUED TO Bay City Wastewater Treatment Plant

> LOCATED AT 2905 North Water Street Bay City, Michigan 48708

IN THE COUNTY OF

Bay

STATE REGISTRATION NUMBER B1486

The Air Quality Division has approved this Permit to Install, pursuant to the delegation of authority from the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy. This permit is hereby issued in accordance with and subject to Section 5505(1) of Article II, Chapter I, Part 55, Air Pollution Control, of the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act, 1994 PA 451, as amended. Pursuant to Air Pollution Control Rule 336.1201(1), this permit constitutes the permittee's authority to install the identified emission unit(s) in accordance with all administrative rules of the Department and the attached conditions. Operation of the emission unit(s) identified in this Permit to Install is allowed pursuant to Rule 336.1201(6).

DATE OF RECEIPT OF ALL INFORMATION REQUIRED BY RULE 203:

May 19, 2023

DATE PERMIT TO INSTALL APPROVED: June 23, 2023	SIGNATURE:
DATE PERMIT VOIDED:	SIGNATURE:
DATE PERMIT REVOKED:	SIGNATURE:

PERMIT TO INSTALL

Table of Contents

COMMON ACRONYMS	2
POLLUTANT / MEASUREMENT ABBREVIATIONS	3
GENERAL CONDITIONS	4
EMISSION UNIT SPECIAL CONDITIONS	6
EMISSION UNIT SUMMARY TABLE	6
EUENGINE1	7

COMMON ACRONYMS

POLLUTANT / MEASUREMENT ABBREVIATIONS

acfm BTU °C CO CO ₂ e dscf dscm °F gr HAP Hg hr HP H2S kW Ib m mg mm	Actual cubic feet per minute British Thermal Unit Degrees Celsius Carbon Monoxide Carbon Dioxide Equivalent Dry standard cubic foot Dry standard cubic meter Degrees Fahrenheit Grains Hazardous Air Pollutant Mercury Hour Horsepower Hydrogen Sulfide Kilowatt Pound Meter Milligram Millimeter
MM MW	Million
NMOC	Megawatts Non-Methane Organic Compounds
NO _x	Oxides of Nitrogen
ng	Nanogram
PM	Particulate Matter
PM10	Particulate Matter equal to or less than 10 microns in diameter
PM2.5	Particulate Matter equal to or less than 2.5 microns in diameter
pph	Pounds per hour
ppm	Parts per million
ppmv	Parts per million by volume
ppmw	Parts per million by weight
psia	Pounds per square inch absolute
psig	Pounds per square inch gauge
scf	Standard cubic feet
sec	Seconds
SO ₂	Sulfur Dioxide
TAC	Toxic Air Contaminant
Temp THC	Temperature
-	Total Hydrocarbons Tons per year
tpy	Microgram
μg μm	Micrometer or Micron
VOC	Volatile Organic Compounds
yr	Year
J.	

GENERAL CONDITIONS

- 1. The process or process equipment covered by this permit shall not be reconstructed, relocated, or modified, unless a Permit to Install authorizing such action is issued by the Department, except to the extent such action is exempt from the Permit to Install requirements by any applicable rule. (R 336.1201(1))
- 2. If the installation, construction, reconstruction, relocation, or modification of the equipment for which this permit has been approved has not commenced within 18 months, or has been interrupted for 18 months, this permit shall become void unless otherwise authorized by the Department. Furthermore, the permittee or the designated authorized agent shall notify the Department via the Supervisor, Permit Section, Air Quality Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 30260, Lansing, Michigan 48909-7760, if it is decided not to pursue the installation, construction, reconstruction, relocation, or modification of the equipment allowed by this Permit to Install. (R 336.1201(4))
- 3. If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process equipment located at a stationary source that is not subject to the Renewable Operating Permit program requirements pursuant to Rule 210 (R 336.1210), operation of the process or process equipment is allowed by this permit if the equipment performs in accordance with the terms and conditions of this Permit to Install. (R 336.1201(6)(b))
- The Department may, after notice and opportunity for a hearing, revoke this Permit to Install if evidence indicates the process or process equipment is not performing in accordance with the terms and conditions of this permit or is violating the Department's rules or the Clean Air Act. (R 336.1201(8), Section 5510 of Act 451, PA 1994)
- 5. The terms and conditions of this Permit to Install shall apply to any person or legal entity that now or hereafter owns or operates the process or process equipment at the location authorized by this Permit to Install. If the new owner or operator submits a written request to the Department pursuant to Rule 219 and the Department approves the request, this permit will be amended to reflect the change of ownership or operational control. The request must include all of the information required by subrules (1)(a), (b), and (c) of Rule 219 and shall be sent to the District Supervisor, Air Quality Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality. (R 336.1219)
- 6. Operation of this equipment shall not result in the emission of an air contaminant which causes injurious effects to human health or safety, animal life, plant life of significant economic value, or property, or which causes unreasonable interference with the comfortable enjoyment of life and property. (R 336.1901)
- 7. The permittee shall provide notice of an abnormal condition, start-up, shutdown, or malfunction that results in emissions of a hazardous or toxic air pollutant which continue for more than one hour in excess of any applicable standard or limitation, or emissions of any air contaminant continuing for more than two hours in excess of an applicable standard or limitation, as required in Rule 912, to the Department. The notice shall be provided not later than two business days after start-up, shutdown, or discovery of the abnormal condition or malfunction. Written reports, if required, must be filed with the Department within 10 days after the start-up or shutdown occurred, within 10 days after the abnormal conditions or malfunction has been corrected, or within 30 days of discovery of the abnormal condition or malfunction, whichever is first. The written reports shall include all of the information required in Rule 912(5). (R 336.1912)
- 8. Approval of this permit does not exempt the permittee from complying with any future applicable requirements which may be promulgated under Part 55 of 1994 PA 451, as amended or the Federal Clean Air Act.
- 9. Approval of this permit does not obviate the necessity of obtaining such permits or approvals from other units of government as required by law.
- 10. Operation of this equipment may be subject to other requirements of Part 55 of 1994 PA 451, as amended and the rules promulgated thereunder.
- 11. Except as provided in subrules (2) and (3) or unless the special conditions of the Permit to Install include an alternate opacity limit established pursuant to subrule (4) of Rule 301, the permittee shall not cause or permit

to be discharged into the outer air from a process or process equipment a visible emission of density greater than the most stringent of the following. The grading of visible emissions shall be determined in accordance with Rule 303 (R 336.1303). (R 336.1301)

- a) A six-minute average of 20 percent opacity, except for one six-minute average per hour of not more than 27 percent opacity.
- b) A visible emission limit specified by an applicable federal new source performance standard.
- c) A visible emission limit specified as a condition of this Permit to Install.
- 12. Collected air contaminants shall be removed as necessary to maintain the equipment at the required operating efficiency. The collection and disposal of air contaminants shall be performed in a manner so as to minimize the introduction of contaminants to the outer air. Transport of collected air contaminants in Priority I and II areas requires the use of material handling methods specified in Rule 370(2). (**R 336.1370**)
- The Department may require the permittee to conduct acceptable performance tests, at the permittee's expense, in accordance with Rule 1001 and Rule 1003, under any of the conditions listed in Rule 1001. (R 336.2001)

EMISSION UNIT SPECIAL CONDITIONS

EMISSION UNIT SUMMARY TABLE

The descriptions provided below are for informational purposes and do not constitute enforceable conditions.

Emission Unit ID	Emission Unit Description (Including Process Equipment & Control Device(s))	Installation Date / Modification Date
EUENGINE1	A 2206 HP (1500 kilowatts (kW)) diesel-fueled emergency engine with a model year of 2011 or later, and a displacement of 4.31 liters/cylinder.	*TBD

Changes to the equipment described in this table are subject to the requirements of R 336.1201, except as allowed by R 336.1278 to R 336.1291.

EUENGINE1 EMISSION UNIT CONDITIONS

DESCRIPTION

A 2206 HP (1500 kilowatts (kW)) diesel-fueled emergency engine with a model year of 2011 or later, and a displacement of 4.31 liters/cylinder.

Flexible Group ID: NA

POLLUTION CONTROL EQUIPMENT

NA

I. EMISSION LIMIT(S)

Pollutant	Limit	Time Period / Operating Scenario	Equipment	Monitoring / Testing Method	Underlying Applicable Requirements
1. NMHC + NOx	6.4 g/kW-hr	Hourly ^A	EUENGINE1	SC V.1 SC VI.2	40 CFR 60.4202, 40 CFR 60.4205, 40 CFR 1039
2. CO	3.5 g/kW-hr	Hourly ^A	EUENGINE1	SC V.1 SC VI.2	40 CFR 60.4202, 40 CFR 60.4205, 40 CFR 1039
3. PM	0.2 g/kW-hr	Hourly ^A	EUENGINE1	SC V.1 SC VI.2	40 CFR 60.4202, 40 CFR 60.4205, 40 CFR 1039
4. NOx	7.8 tpy	12-month rolling time period as determined at the end of each calendar month	EUENGINE1	SC V.1 SC VI.2	R 336.1205(3), 40 CFR 52.21 (c) & (d)
5. VOC (limit includes formaldehyde)	0.8 pph	Hourly tified engines; if testing bec	EUENGINE1	SC V.1	R 336.1702(a)

A These emission limits are for certified engines; if testing becomes required to demonstrate compliance, then the tested values must be compared to the Not to Exceed (NTE) requirements determined through 40 CFR 60.4212(c)

II. MATERIAL LIMIT(S)

1. The permittee shall burn only diesel fuel in EUENGINE1 with a maximum sulfur content of 15 ppm (0.0015 percent) by weight and a minimum Cetane index of 40 or a maximum aromatic content of 35 volume percent. (40 CFR 60.4207, 40 CFR 1090.305)

III. PROCESS/OPERATIONAL RESTRICTION(S)

- 1. The permittee shall not operate EUENGINE1 for more than 320 hours per month and 500 hours per year based on a 12-month rolling time period as determined at the end of each calendar month. The 500 hours includes the hours for the purpose of necessary maintenance checks and readiness testing as described in (R 336.1205(3), R 336.1225, R 336.1702(a), 40 CFR 52.21(c) & (d))
- 2. The permittee may operate EUENGINE1 for no more than 100 hours per calendar year for the purpose of necessary maintenance checks and readiness testing, provided that the tests are recommended by Federal,

State, or local government, the manufacturer, the vendor, the regional transmission organization or equivalent balancing authority and transmission operator, or the insurance company associated with the engine. The permittee may petition the Department for approval of additional hours to be used for maintenance checks and readiness testing. A petition is not required if the owner or operator maintains records indicating that Federal, State, or local standards require maintenance and testing of emergency internal combustion engines beyond 100 hours per calendar year. **(40 CFR 60.4211(f)(2))**

- 3. The permittee may operate EUENGINE1 up to 50 hours per calendar year in non-emergency situations, but those 50 hours are counted as part of the 100 hours per calendar year provided for maintenance and testing as provided in 40 CFR 60.4211(f)(2). Except as provided in 40 CFR 60.4211(f)(3)(i), the 50 hours per calendar year for non-emergency situations cannot be used for peak shaving or non-emergency demand response, or to generate income for a facility to an electric grid or otherwise supply power as part of a financial arrangement with another entity. (40 CFR 60.4211(f)(3))
- 4. If the permittee purchased a certified engine, according to procedures specified in 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart IIII, for the same model year, the permittee shall meet the following requirements for EUENGINE1:
 - a) Operate and maintain the certified engine and control device according to the manufacturer's emissionrelated written instructions,
 - b) Change only those emission-related settings that are permitted by the manufacturer, and
 - c) Meet the requirements as specified in 40 CFR 1068, as they apply to the engine.

If you do not operate and maintain the certified engine and control device according to the manufacturer's emission-related written instructions, the engine will be considered a non-certified engine. (40 CFR 60.4211(a) & 60.4205(b))

 If the permittee purchased a non-certified engine or a certified engine operating in a non-certified manner, the permittee shall keep a maintenance plan for EUENGINE1 and shall, to the extent practicable, maintain and operate the engine in a manner consistent with good air pollution control practice for minimizing emissions. (40 CFR 60.4211(g)(3))

IV. DESIGN/EQUIPMENT PARAMETER(S)

- 1. The permittee shall equip and maintain EUENGINE1 with non-resettable hours meters to track the operating hours. (R 336.1205(3), R 336.1225, 40 CFR 60.4209)
- The maximum rated power output of EUENGINE1 shall not exceed 2206 HP (1500 kW), as certified by the equipment manufacturer. (R 336.1205(3), R 336.1225, R 336.1702(a), 40 CFR 60.4202, 40 CFR 60.4205, 40 CFR 1039, 40 CFR 1042)

V. TESTING/SAMPLING

Records shall be maintained on file for a period of five years. (R 336.1201(3))

- 1. If the EUENGINE1 is not installed, configured, operated, and maintained according to the manufacturer's emission-related written instructions, or the permittee changes emission-related settings in a way that is not permitted by the manufacturer, the permittee must demonstrate compliance as follows:
 - a) Conduct an initial performance test to demonstrate compliance with the applicable emission standards within 1 year of startup, or within 1 year after an engine and control device is no longer installed, configured, operated, and maintained in accordance with the manufacturer's emission-related written instructions, or within 1 year after you change emission-related settings in a way that is not permitted by the manufacturer.
 - b) If a performance test is required, the performance tests shall be conducted according to 40 CFR 60.4212.
 - c) Conduct subsequent performance testing every 8,760 hours of engine operation or every 3 years thereafter, whichever comes first, to demonstrate compliance with the applicable emission standards.

No less than 30 days prior to testing, a complete test plan shall be submitted to the AQD. The permittee must submit a complete report of the test results to the AQD Technical Programs Unit and District Office within 60 days following the last date of the test. (40 CFR 60.4211(g)(3), 40 CFR 60.4212)

VI. MONITORING/RECORDKEEPING

Records shall be maintained on file for a period of five years. (R 336.1201(3))

- The permittee shall complete all required calculations in a format acceptable to the AQD District Supervisor by the last day of the calendar month, for the previous calendar month, unless otherwise specified in any monitoring/recordkeeping special condition. (R 336.1225, 40 CFR 52.21 (c) & (d), 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart IIII)
- 2. The permittee shall keep, in a satisfactory manner, the following records for EUENGINE1
 - a) For a certified engine: The permittee shall keep records of the manufacturer certification documentation.
 - b) For an uncertified engine: The permittee shall keep records of testing required in SC V.1.

The permittee shall keep all records on file and make them available to the Department upon request. (40 CFR 60.4211)

- 3. The permittee shall keep, in a satisfactory manner, the following records of maintenance activity for EUENGINE1:
 - a) For a certified engine: The permittee shall keep records of the manufacturer's emission-related written instructions, and records demonstrating that the engine has been maintained according to those instructions, as specified in SC III.4.
 - b) For an uncertified engine: The permittee shall keep records of a maintenance plan, as required by SC III.5, and maintenance activities.

The permittee shall keep all records on file and make them available to the Department upon request. (40 CFR 60.4211)

- 4. The permittee shall monitor and record, the total hours of operation for EUENGINE1 on a monthly and 12-month rolling time period basis, and the hours of operation during emergency and non-emergency service that are recorded through the non-resettable hour meter for EUENGINE1, on a calendar year basis, in a manner acceptable to the AQD District Supervisor. The permittee shall document how many hours are spent for emergency operation of EUENGINE1, including what classified the operation as emergency and how many hours are spent for non-emergency operation. (R 336.1205(3), 40 CFR 60.4211, 40 CFR 60.4214)
- The permittee shall keep, in a satisfactory manner, fuel supplier certification records or fuel sample test data, for each delivery of diesel fuel oil used in EUENGINE1, demonstrating that the fuel meets the requirement of 40 CFR 1090.305. The certification or test data shall include the name of the oil supplier or laboratory, the sulfur content, and cetane index or aromatic content of the fuel oil. (40 CFR 60.4207(b), 40 CFR 1090.305)

VII. <u>REPORTING</u>

- Within 30 days after completion of the installation, construction, reconstruction, relocation, or modification authorized by this Permit to Install, the permittee or the authorized agent pursuant to Rule 204, shall notify the AQD District Supervisor, in writing, of the completion of the activity. Completion of the installation, construction, reconstruction, relocation, or modification is considered to occur not later than commencement of trial operation of EUENGINE1. (R 336.1201(7)(a))
- 2. The permittee shall submit a notification specifying whether EUENGINE1 will be operated in a certified or a non-certified manner to the AQD District Supervisor, in writing, within 30 days following the initial startup of the engine and within 30 days of switching the manner of operation. **(40 CFR Part 60 Subpart IIII)**

VIII. STACK/VENT RESTRICTION(S)

The exhaust gases from the stacks listed in the table below shall be discharged unobstructed vertically upwards to the ambient air unless otherwise noted:

Stack & Vent ID	Maximum Exhaust Diameter / Dimensions (inches)	Minimum Height Above Ground (feet)	Underlying Applicable Requirements
1. SVENGINE1	16	13.5	R 336.1225, 40 CFR 52.21 (c) & (d)

IX. OTHER REQUIREMENT(S)

- 1. The permittee shall comply with the provisions of the federal Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources as specified in 40 CFR Part 60, Subparts A and IIII, as they apply to EUENGINE1. (40 CFR Part 60 Subparts A & IIII, 40 CFR 63.6590(c)).
- The permittee shall comply with all provisions of the National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants as specified in 40 CFR Part 63, Subparts A and ZZZZ, as they apply to EUENGINE1. (40 CFR Part 63 Subparts A and ZZZZ, 40 CFR 63.9585)