SUPPLEMENT TO PERMIT NO. 981-92

Powder Cote II Mt. Clemens, Michigan

January 28, 1993

GENERAL CONDITIONS

- 1. Rule 208(2) Not more than 30 days after completion of the installation, Applicant shall apply, in writing, for a Permit to Operate. Completion of the installation is deemed to occur not later than commencement of a trial operation pursuant to Rule 201(4). Written application should be sent to: Chief, Permit Unit, Air Quality Division, Department of Natural Resources, P.O. Box 30028, Lansing, Michigan 48909.
- 2. Rule 201(4) Trial operation of the equipment is permitted until the Michigan Air Pollution Control Commission acts upon the Permit to Operate. Operation of the equipment shall permanently cease upon denial of the Permit to Operate by the Commission.
- 3. Rule 208(3)(a) and (c) Applicant shall demonstrate compliance with all Commission rules and with all general and special conditions of this permit prior to issuance of the Permit to Operate.
- 4. Rule 201 Applicant shall not reconstruct, alter, modify, expand, or relocate this equipment unless plans, specifications, and an application for a Permit to Install are submitted to and approved by the Commission.
- 5. Rule 901 Operation of this equipment shall not result in the emission of an air contaminant which causes injurious effects to human health or safety, animal life, plant life of significant value, or property, or which causes unreasonable interference with the comfortable enjoyment of life and property.
- 6. Rule 208(3)(b) Operation of this equipment shall not interfere with the attainment or maintenance of the air quality standard for any air contaminant.
- 7. Operation of this equipment shall not result in significant deterioration of air quality.
- 8. Rule 912 Applicant shall provide notification of any abnormal conditions or malfunction of process or control equipment covered by this application, resulting in emissions in violation of the Commission rules or of any permit conditions for more than two hours, to the District Supervisor. Such notice shall be made as soon as reasonably possible, but not later than 9:00 a.m. of the next working day. Applicant shall also, within 10 days, submit to the District Supervisor, a written detailed report, including probable causes, duration of violation, remedial action taken, and the steps which are being undertaken to prevent a reoccurrence.

Powder Cote II Permit No. 981-92 Page 2 January 28, 1993

- 9. Approval of this application does not exempt the Applicant from complying with any future regulations which may be promulgated under Act 348, P.A. 1965, as amended.
- 10. Approval of this permit does not obviate the necessity of obtaining such permits or approvals from other units of government as required by law.
- 11. Act No. 53 Applicant shall notify any public utility of any excavation, tunneling and discharging of explosives or demolition of buildings which may affect said utility's facilities in accordance with Act 53 of the Public Acts of 1974, being sections 460.701 to 460.718 of the Michigan Compiled Laws and comply with each of the requirements of that Act.
- 12. The restrictions and conditions of this Permit to Install shall apply to any person or legal entity which now or shall hereafter own or operate the equipment for which this Permit to Install is issued. Any new owner or operator shall immediately notify the Chief of the Permit Unit, in writing, of such change in ownership or principal operator status of this equipment.
- 13. Rule 201(5) If the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of the equipment for which this permit has been approved has not commenced within, or has been interrupted for, 18 months, this permit shall become void unless otherwise authorized by the Commission.
- 14. Rule 285 Except as allowed by Rule 285 (a), (b), and (c), applicant shall not substitute any fuels, coatings, nor raw materials for those described in the application and allowed by this permit, nor make changes to the process or process equipment described in the application, without prior notification to and approval by the Air Quality Division.

SPECIAL CONDITIONS

- 15. There shall be no visible emissions from the batch burn-off oven.
- 16. The exhaust gases from the burn-off oven shall be discharged unobstructed vertically upwards to the ambient air from a stack with a maximum diameter of 12 inches at an exit point not less than 30 feet above ground level.
- 17. Applicant shall not operate the burn-off oven unless a minimum temperature of 1500°F and a minimum retention time of 0.5 seconds in the afterburner incinerator is maintained.
- 18. Operating temperature records shall be kept on file for a period of at least two years and made available to the Air Quality Division upon request.

PE:cmb