
SUPPLEMENT to PERMIT No. 38-01 
Charlevoix County Humane Society 

Boyne City, Michigan 
June 4, 2001 

 
GENERAL CONDITIONS 

 
1. The process or process equipment covered by this permit shall not be reconstructed, 

relocated, altered, or modified, unless a Permit to Install authorizing such action is 
issued by the Department, except to the extent such action is exempt from the Permit to 
Install requirements by any applicable rule.  [R 336.1201(1)] 

 
2. If the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of the equipment for which this 

permit has been approved has not commenced within 18 months, or has been 
interrupted for 18 months, this permit shall become void unless otherwise authorized by 
the Department.  Furthermore, the person to whom this permit was issued, or the 
designated authorized agent, shall notify the Department via the Supervisor, Permit 
Section, Air Quality Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 
30260, Lansing, Michigan 48909, if it is decided not to pursue the installation, 
reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of the equipment allowed by this Permit to Install.  
[R 336.1201(4)] 

 
3. If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process equipment located at a 

stationary source that is not subject to the Renewable Operating Permit program 
requirements pursuant to R 336.1210, operation of the process or process equipment is 
allowed by this permit if the equipment performs in accordance with the terms and 
conditions of this Permit to Install.  [R 336.1201(6)(b)] 

 
4. The Department may, after notice and opportunity for a hearing, revoke this Permit to 

Install if evidence indicates the process or process equipment is not performing in 
accordance with the terms and conditions of this permit or is violating the Department's 
rules or the Clean Air Act.  [R 336.1201(8), Section 5510 of Act 451, P.A. 1994] 

 
5. The terms and conditions of this Permit to Install shall apply to any person or legal entity 

that now or hereafter owns or operates the process or process equipment at the location 
authorized by this Permit to Install.  If the new owner or operator submits a written 
request to the Department pursuant to R 336.1219 and the Department approves the 
request, this permit will be amended to reflect the change of ownership or operational 
control.  The request must include all of the information required by subrules (1)(a), (b) 
and (c) of R 336.1219.  The written request shall be sent to the District Supervisor, Air 
Quality Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality.  [R 336.1219] 

 
6. Operation of this equipment shall not result in the emission of an air contaminant which 

causes injurious effects to human health or safety, animal life, plant life of significant 
economic value, or property, or which causes unreasonable interference with the 
comfortable enjoyment of life and property.  [R 336.1901] 

 
7. The owner or operator of a source, process, or process equipment shall provide notice 

of an abnormal condition, start-up, shutdown, or malfunction that results in emissions of 
a hazardous or toxic air pollutant in excess of standards for more than one hour, or of 
any air contaminant in excess of standards for more than two hours, as required in this 
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rule, to the District Supervisor, Air Quality Division.  The notice shall be provided not 
later than two business days after start-up, shutdown, or discovery of the abnormal 
condition or malfunction.  Written reports, if required, must be filed with the District 
Supervisor within 10 days, with the information required in this rule.  [R 336.1912] 

 
8. Approval of this permit does not exempt the person to whom this permit was issued from 

complying with any future applicable requirements which may be promulgated under 
Part 55 of Act 451, P.A. 1994 of the Clean Air Act. 

 
9. Approval of this permit does not obviate the necessity of obtaining such permits or 

approvals from other units of government as required by law. 
 
10. Operation of this equipment may be subject to other requirements of Part 55 of Act 451, 

P.A. 1994, and the rules promulgated thereunder. 
 
11. Except as provided in subrules (2) and (3) or unless the special conditions of the Permit 

to Install include an alternate opacity limit established pursuant to subrule (4) of 
R 336.1301, a person shall not cause or permit to be discharged into the outer air from a 
process or process equipment a visible emission of density greater than the most 
stringent of the following.  The grading of visible emissions shall be determined in 
accordance with R 336.1303.  [R 336.1301]  

 
a)  A six-minute average of 20% opacity, except for one 6-minute average per hour of 

not more than 27% opacity. 
 

b)  A visible emission limit specified by an applicable federal new source performance 
standard. 

 
c)  A visible emission limit specified as a condition of this permit to install. 

 
12. Collected air contaminants shall be removed as necessary to maintain the equipment at 

the required operating efficiency.  The collection and disposal of air contaminants shall 
be performed in a manner so as to minimize the introduction of contaminants to the 
outer air.  Transport of collected air contaminants in Priority I and II areas requires the 
use of material handling methods specified in R 336.1370(2).  [R 336.1370] 

 
13. Except as allowed by Rule 285 (a), (b), and (c), applicant shall not substitute any fuels, 

coatings, nor raw materials for those described in the application and allowed by this 
permit, nor make changes to the process or process equipment described in the 
application, without prior notification to and approval by the Air Quality Division.  
[R 336.1201(1)] 

 
14. The Department may require the applicant to conduct acceptable performance tests, at 

the applicant's expense, in accordance with R 336.2001 and R 336.2003, under any of 
the conditions listed in R 336.2001.  [R 336.2001] 
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SPECIAL CONDITIONS 
June 4, 2001 

 
 
Emission Unit Identification 
 

Emission Unit Emission Unit Description Stack 
Identification 

EU-INCINERATOR 85 pound/hour Therm Tec S-27 
Pathological Waste Incinerator SV-INCINERATOR 

 
 
 

EU-INCINERATOR 
 
Emission Limits 
 

 Pollutant Limit Time Period Compliance 
Method 

Applicable 
Requirements 

1. Particulate 

0.20 pounds per 1,000 
pounds of exhaust 

gases, corrected to 50% 
excess air. 

instantaneous GC 11 and GC 14 R 336.1331 

  
 

Material Usage Limits 
 
2. The permittee shall not burn any waste in the EU-INCINERATOR other than the following 

wastes.  [40 CFR 60.50c(b)]   
 

Pathological wastes - As defined in the federal Standards of Performance for New 
Stationary Sources, 40 CFR 60.51c, pathological waste means waste materials 
consisting of only human or animal remains, anatomical parts, and/or tissue; the 
bags/containers used to collect and transport the waste material; and animal bedding (if 
applicable).   

 
 
Process/Operational Limits 
 
3. The permittee shall not charge or combust waste in the EU-INCINERATOR unless a 

minimum temperature of 1600 °F and a minimum retention time of 0.32 seconds in the 
secondary combustion chamber are maintained.  [R 336.1301, R 336.1331,  R 336.1910] 

 
4. Proper operation and adequate maintenance of the EU-INCINERATOR to control 

emissions is required.  A list of recommended operating and maintenance procedures is 
specified in Appendix A.  [R 336.1301, R 336.1331,  R 336.1910] 
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Monitoring  
 
5. The permittee shall monitor and record the temperature in the secondary combustion 

chamber of the EU-INCINERATOR on a continuous basis in a manner and with 
instrumentation acceptable to the Air Quality Division.  All records are for the purpose of 
compliance demonstration and shall be kept on file for a period of at least five (5) years 
and made available to the Department upon request.  [R336.1301, R336.1331, 
R336.1901] 

 
 
Recordkeeping/Reporting/Notification 
 
6. The permittee shall keep records on a daily basis of the description and weight of waste 

combusted in the EU-INCINERATOR.  The records are for the purpose of compliance 
demonstration and shall be kept on file for a period of at least five years and made 
available to the Department upon request. [R 336.1205,  40 CFR 60.50c(c)] 

 
 
Stack/Vent Restrictions 
 

 Stack ID 
Maximum 
Diameter 
(inches) 

Minimum Height 
Above Ground Level 

(feet) 
Applicable 

Requirements 

7. SV-INCINERATOR 18 18 R 336.1901 

 The exhaust gases shall be discharged unobstructed vertically upwards to the 
ambient air.   



 
 

APPENDIX A 
 
 
 

INCINERATOR OPERATION AND MAINTENANCE GUIDELINES 
 
 
1. Designate a trained operator for your unit and make that person responsible for compliance 

with the air pollution control requirements. 
 
2. Grates should be cleaned before each day’s operation (more often if necessary), and the 

ashes disposed of properly. 
 
3. Preheat the unit with the burners (not with waste) for at least 15 minutes. 
 
4. Do not overload the incinerator.  Stay within the given loading rates, and follow the 

manufacturer’s instructions. 
 
5. Schedule charges to minimize opening the charging door as infrequently as possible.  

Opening the charging door lets cold air in and quenches the fire causing smoke. 
 
6. Burn only the type of wastes that your incinerator has been approved to burn.  Follow the 

manufacturer’s instructions to maximize the efficiency of the unit, and to properly burn the 
waste(s). 

 
7. Keep the combustion air adjusted according to the manufacturer’s instructions. 
 
8. Observe the stack frequently and adjust your operation as necessary to eliminate smoke and 

fly ash. 
 
9. A copy of the manufacturer’s manual and this Guideline should be posted near your 

incinerator. 
 
10. Make quarterly inspections to check and service all of the equipment.  If you do not have a 

qualified person available for proper inspections, a service contract with a reputable 
manufacturer is advisable. 

 
10-6-95 
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