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Common Abbreviations / Acronyms Used in this Permit to Install 
Common Acronyms  Pollutant/Measurement Abbreviations 

AQD Air Quality Division BTU British Thermal Unit 
BACT Best Available Control Technology °C Degrees Celsius 
CAA Clean Air Act CO Carbon Monoxide 
CEM  Continuous Emission Monitoring dscf Dry standard cubic foot 
CFR Code of Federal Regulations dscm Dry standard cubic meter 
COM Continuous Opacity Monitoring °F Degrees Fahrenheit 

EPA Environmental Protection Agency  gr  Grains 
EU Emission Unit   Hg Mercury  
GACS Gallon of Applied Coating Solids hr Hour  
GC General Condition H2S Hydrogen Sulfide 
HAP Hazardous Air Pollutant HP Horsepower  

HVLP High Volume Low Pressure * lb Pound 
ID  Identification  m Meter 
LAER Lowest Achievable Emission Rate  mg Milligram  
MACT Maximum Achievable Control Technology  mm Millimeter 
MAERS Michigan Air Emissions Reporting System MM Million 

MAP Malfunction Abatement Plan MW Megawatts  
MDEQ Michigan Department of Environmental Quality NOx Oxides of Nitrogen  
MSDS Material Safety Data Sheet PM Particulate Matter  
NESHAP National Emission Standard for Hazardous Air 

Pollutants  
PM-10 Particulate Matter less than 10 microns 

diameter 
NSPS New Source Performance Standards pph Pound per hour 
NSR New Source Review ppm Parts per million 
PS Performance Specification ppmv  Parts per million by volume  
PSD Prevention of Significant Deterioration ppmw Parts per million by weight  

PTE Permanent Total Enclosure psia Pounds per square inch absolute 
PTI Permit to Install psig Pounds per square inch gauge  
RACT Reasonable Available Control Technology scf Standard cubic feet 
SC Special Condition sec Seconds  
SCR Selective Catalytic Reduction SO2 Sulfur Dioxide  

SRN State Registration Number THC  Total Hydrocarbons 
TAC Toxic Air Contaminant tpy Tons per year 
VE Visible Emissions µg  Microgram  
  VOC Volatile Organic Compounds  
  yr Year  

    
    

* For High Volume Low Pressure (HVLP) applicators, the pressure measured at the HVLP gun air cap shall not 
exceed ten (10) pounds per square inch gauge (psig).  
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GENERAL CONDITIONS 
 
1. The process or process equipment covered by this permit shall not be reconstructed, relocated, altered, 

or modified, unless a Permit to Install authorizing such action is issued by the Department, except to the 
extent such action is exempt from the Permit to Install requirements by any applicable rule.  
[R336.1201(1)] 

 
2. If the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of the equipment for which this permit has 

been approved has not commenced within 18 months, or has been interrupted for 18 months, this permit 
shall become void unless otherwise authorized by the Department.  Furthermore, the person to whom 
this permit was issued, or the designated authorized agent, shall notify the Department via the 
Supervisor, Permit Section, Air Quality Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality, PO 
Box 30260, Lansing, Michigan 48909, if it is decided not to pursue the installation, reconstruction, 
relocation, or alteration of the equipment allowed by this Permit to Install.  [R336.1201(4)] 

 
3. If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process equipment located at a stationary source that is 

not subject to the Renewable Operating Permit program requirements pursuant to R336.1210, operation 
of the process or process equipment is allowed by this permit if the equipment performs in accordance 
with the terms and conditions of this Permit to Install.  [R336.1201(6)(b)] 

 
4. The Department may, after notice and opportunity for a hearing, revoke this Permit to Install if evidence 

indicates the process or process equipment is not performing in accordance with the terms and 
conditions of this permit or is violating the Department’s rules or the Clean Air Act.  [R336.1201(8), 
Section 5510 of Act 451, PA 1994] 

 
5. The terms and conditions of this Permit to Install shall apply to any person or legal entity that now or 

hereafter owns or operates the process or process equipment at the location authorized by this Permit to 
Install.  If the new owner or operator submits a written request to the Department pursuant to R336.1219 
and the Department approves the request, this permit will be amended to reflect the change of 
ownership or operational control.  The request must include all of the information required by subrules 
(1)(a), (b), and (c) of R336.1219.  The written request shall be sent to the District Supervisor, Air 
Quality Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality.  [R336.1219] 

 
6. Operation of this equipment shall not result in the emission of an air contaminant which causes injurious 

effects to human health or safety, animal life, plant life of significant economic value, or property, or 
which causes unreasonable interference with the comfortable enjoyment of life and property.  
[R336.1901] 

 
7. The owner or operator of a source, process, or process equipment shall provide notice of an abnormal 

condition, start-up, shutdown, or malfunction that results in emissions of a hazardous or toxic air 
pollutant in excess of standards for more than one hour, or of any air contaminant in excess of standards 
for more than two hours, as required in this rule, to the District Supervisor, Air Quality Division.  The 
notice shall be provided no later than two business days after start-up, shutdown, or discovery of the 
abnormal condition or malfunction.  Written reports, if required, must be filed with the District 
Supervisor within ten days, with the information required in this rule.  [R336.1912] 

 
8. Approval of this permit does not exempt the person to whom this permit was issued from complying 

with any future applicable requirements which may be promulgated under Part 55 of Act 451, PA 1994 
or the Federal Clean Air Act. 
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9. Approval of this permit does not obviate the necessity of obtaining such permits or approvals from other 

units of government as required by law. 
 
10. Operation of this equipment may be subject to other requirements of Part 55 of Act 451, PA 1994, and 

the rules promulgated thereunder. 
 
11. Except as provided in subrules (2) and (3) or unless the special conditions of the Permit to Install 

include an alternate opacity limit established pursuant to subrule (4) of R336.1301, a person shall not 
cause or permit to be discharged into the outer air from a process or process equipment a visible 
emission of density greater than the most stringent of the following.  The grading of visible emissions 
shall be determined in accordance with R336.1303.  [R336.1301]  

 
a) A six-minute average of 20 percent opacity, except for one six-minute average per hour of not 

more than 27 percent opacity. 
 
b) A visible emission limit specified by an applicable federal new source performance standard. 
 
c) A visible emission limit specified as a condition of this permit to install. 

 
12. Collected air contaminants shall be removed as necessary to maintain the equipment at the required 

operating efficiency.  The collection and disposal of air contaminants shall be performed in a manner so 
as to minimize the introduction of contaminants to the outer air.  Transport of collected air contaminants 
in Priority I and II areas requires the use of material handling methods specified in R336.1370(2).  
[R336.1370] 

 
13. Except as allowed by Rule 285 (a), (b), and (c), applicant shall not substitute any fuels, coatings, nor 

raw materials for those described in the application and allowed by this permit, nor make changes to the 
process or process equipment described in the application, without prior notification to and approval by 
the Air Quality Division.  [R336.1201(1)] 

 
14. The Department may require the applicant to conduct acceptable performance tests, at the applicant’s 

expense, in accordance with R336.2001 and R336.2003, under any of the conditions listed in 
R336.2001.  [R336.2001] 
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SPECIAL CONDITIONS 
 
 

Emission Unit Identification 
 

Emission Unit ID Emission Unit Description Stack Identification 
EUINCINERATOR Therm-Tec Model G-12-P-1 pathological waste incinerator SVINCINERATOR 

 
 

The following conditions apply to: EUINCINERATOR 
 
Emission Limits  

 Pollutant Limit Time Period Compliance 
Method 

Applicable 
Requirements  

1.1 PM 0.20 pounds per 1,000 pounds of 
exhaust gases, corrected to 50% 
excess air. 

Test Method GC 11, GC 14 R336.1331 

 
 
Material Usage Limits  
1.2 The permittee shall not burn any waste in EUINCINERATOR other than the following wastes:  

[40 CFR 60.51c]   
 

Pathological wastes—As defined in the federal Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources, 
40 CFR 60.51c, pathological waste means waste materials consisting of only human or animal remains, 
anatomical parts, and/or tissue; the bags/containers used to collect and transport the waste material; and 
animal bedding.   

 
 
Process/Operational Limits  
1.3 The permittee shall not combust waste in EUINCINERATOR unless a minimum  temperature of 1500 °F 

and a minimum retention time of 1.0 seconds in the secondary combustion chamber are maintained.  
[R336.1301, R336.1331, R336.1910] 

 
1.4 The incinerator shall be installed, maintained, and operated in a satisfactory manner to control emissions 

from EUINCINERATOR.  A list of recommended operating and maintenance procedures is specified in 
Appendix A.  [R336.1301, R336.1331, R336.1910] 

 
 
Monitoring  
1.5 The permittee shall install, calibrate, maintain and operate in a satisfactory manner a device to monitor 

and record the temperature in the secondary combustion chamber of EUINCINERATOR on a continuous 
basis.  [R336.1301, R336.1331, R336.1901] 

 
 
Recordkeeping/Reporting/Notification 
1.6 The permittee shall keep, in a satisfactory manner, daily records of the description and weight of waste 

combusted in EUINCINERATOR.  All records are for the purpose of compliance demonstration and shall 
be kept on file for a period of at least five years and made available to the Department upon request.  
[R336.1205, 40 CFR 60.50c(c)] 
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1.7 The permittee shall keep, in a satisfactory manner, secondary combustion chamber temperature records 

for EUINCINERATOR.  All records are for the purpose of compliance demonstration and shall be kept on 
file for a period of at least five years and made available to the Department upon request.  [R336.1301, 
R336.1331, R336.1901] 

 
 
Stack/Vent Restrictions  

 Stack & Vent ID Maximum Diameter 
(inches) 

Minimum Height Above 
Ground Level (feet) 

Applicable 
Requirements  

1.8 SVINCINERATOR 20 28 R336.1901 

The exhaust gases shall be discharged unobstructed vertically upwards to the ambient air.   
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APPENDIX A 
Incinerator Operation and Maintenance Guidelines 

 
1. Designate a trained operator for your unit and make that person responsible for compliance with the air 

pollution control requirements. 
 
2. Grates should be cleaned before each day’s operation (more often if necessary), and the ashes disposed of 

properly. 
 
3. Preheat the unit with the burners (not with waste) for at least 15 minutes. 
 
4. Do not overload the incinerator.  Stay within the given loading rates, and follow the manufacturer’s 

instructions. 
 
5. Schedule charges to minimize opening the charging door as infrequently as possible.  Opening the 

charging door lets cold air in and quenches the fire causing smoke. 
 
6. Burn only the type of wastes that your incinerator has been approved to burn.  Follow the manufacturer’s 

instructions to maximize the efficiency of the unit, and to properly burn the waste(s). 
 
7. Keep the combustion air adjusted according to the manufacturer’s instructions. 
 
8. Observe the stack frequently and adjust your operation as necessary to eliminate smoke and fly ash. 
 
9. A copy of the manufacturer’s manual and this Guideline should be posted near your incinerator. 
 
10. Make quarterly inspections to check and service all of the equipment.  If you do not have a qualified 

person available for proper inspections, a service contract with a reputable  manufacturer is advisable. 


