
SUPPLEMENT to PERMIT No. 271-99 
Oak Hill Cemetery 

Battle Creek, Michigan 
August 17, 1999 

 
GENERAL CONDITIONS 

 
1. Rule 201(1) - The process or process equipment covered by this permit shall not be 

reconstructed, relocated, altered, or modified, unless a Permit to Install authorizing such 
action is issued by the Department, except to the extent such action is exempt from the 
Permit to Install requirements by any applicable rule. 

 
2. Rule 201(4) - If the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of the equipment 

for which this permit has been approved has not commenced within 18 months, or has 
been interrupted for 18 months, this permit shall become void unless otherwise 
authorized by the Department.  Furthermore, the person to whom this permit was issued, 
or the designated authorized agent, shall notify the Department via the Supervisor, 
Permit Section, Air Quality Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 30260, Lansing, Michigan 48909, if it is decided not to pursue the installation, 
reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of the equipment allowed by this Permit to Install. 

 
3. Rule 201(6)(a) - If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process equipment 

located at a stationary source that is subject to the Renewable Operating Permit 
program requirements pursuant to R 336.1210, trial operation is allowed by this permit if 
the equipment performs in accordance with the terms and conditions of this Permit to 
Install and until the appropriate terms and conditions of this Permit to Install have been 
incorporated into the Renewable Operating Permit.  Upon incorporation of the 
appropriate terms and conditions into the Renewable Operating Permit, this Permit to 
Install shall become void. 

 
4. Rules 201(6)(b) -  If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process equipment 

located at a stationary source that is not subject to the Renewable Operating Permit 
program requirements pursuant to R 336.1210, operation of the process or process 
equipment is allowed by this permit if the equipment performs in accordance with the 
terms and conditions of this Permit to Install. 

 
5. Rule 201(8) and Section 5510 of Act 451, P.A. 1994 - The Department may, after notice 

and opportunity for a hearing, revoke this Permit to Install if evidence indicates the 
process or process equipment is not performing in accordance with the terms and 
conditions of this permit or is violating the Departments' rules or the Clean Air Act. 

 
6. Rule 219 - The terms and conditions of this Permit to Install shall apply to any person or 

legal entity that now or hereafter owns or operates the process or process equipment at 
the location authorized by this Permit to Install.  If the new owner or operator submits a 
written request to the Department pursuant to R 336.1219 and the Department approves 
the request, this permit will be amended to reflect the change of ownership or 
operational control.  The request must include all of the information required by subrules 
(1)(a), (b) and (c) of R 336.1219.  The written request shall be sent to the District 
Supervisor, Air Quality Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality. 
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7. Rule 901 - Operation of this equipment shall not result in the emission of an air 
contaminant which causes injurious effects to human health or safety, animal life, plant 
life of significant economic value, or property, or which causes unreasonable 
interference with the comfortable enjoyment of life and property. 

 
8. Rule 912 - The owner or operator of a source, process, or process equipment shall 

provide notice of an abnormal condition, start-up, shutdown, or malfunction that results 
in emissions of a hazardous or toxic air pollutant in excess of standards for more than 
one hour, or of any air contaminant in excess of standards for more than two hours, as 
required in this rule, to the District Supervisor, Air Quality Division.  The notice shall be 
provided not later than two business days after start-up, shutdown, or discovery of the 
abnormal condition or malfunction.  Written reports, if required, must be filed with the 
District Supervisor within 10 days, with the information required in this rule. 

 
9. Approval of this permit does not exempt the person to whom this permit was issued from 

complying with any future applicable requirements which may be promulgated under 
Part 55 of Act 451, P.A. 1994 or the Clean Air Act. 

 
10. Approval of this permit does not obviate the necessity of obtaining such permits or 

approvals from other units of government as required by law. 
 
11. Operation of this equipment may be subject to other requirements of Part 55 of Act 451, 

P.A. 1994, and the rules promulgated thereunder. 
 
12. Rule 301 - Except as provided in subrules (2), and (3) or unless the special conditions of 

the Permit to Install include an alternate opacity limit established pursuant to subrule (4) 
of R 336.1301, a person shall not cause or permit to be discharged into the outer air 
from a process or process equipment a visible emission of density greater than the most 
stringent of the following.  The grading of visible emissions shall be determined in 
accordance with R 336.1303.  

 
a)   A 6-minute average of 20% opacity, except for one 6-minute average per hour of not 

more than 27% opacity. 
 

b)  A visible emission limit specified by an applicable federal new source performance 
standard. 

 
c)   A visible emission limit specified as a condition of this permit to install. 

 
13. Rule 370 - Collected air contaminants shall be removed as necessary to maintain the 

equipment at the required operating efficiency.  The collection and disposal of air 
contaminants shall be performed in a manner so as to minimize the introduction of 
contaminants to the outer air.  Transport of collected air contaminants in Priority I and II 
areas requires the use of material handling methods specified in R 336.1370(2). 
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14. Rule 285 - Except as allowed by Rule 285 (a), (b), and (c), applicant shall not substitute 
any fuels, coatings, nor raw materials for those described in the application and allowed 
by this permit, nor make changes to the process or process equipment described in the 
application, without prior notification to and approval by the Air Quality Division. 

 
15. The Department may require the applicant to conduct acceptable performance tests, at 

the applicant's expense, in accordance with R 336.2001 and R 336.2003, under any of 
the conditions listed in R 336.2001. 
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 SPECIAL CONDITIONS 
August 17, 1999 

(6 Special Conditions) 
 
 

1. The particulate emission from the crematory incinerator shall not exceed 0.20 pound per 
1000 pounds of exhaust gases, corrected to 50% excess air.  This condition is 
necessary to ensure compliance with the emission limits for particulate matter 
established pursuant to Rule 331. 

 
2. Applicant shall not burn any waste in the crematory incinerator other than the following:  
 

A. Pathological waste as defined in 40 CFR Part 60.51c.  Pathological waste means 
waste material consisting of only human or animal remains, anatomical parts, 
and/or tissue, the bags/containers used to collect and transport the waste 
material, and animal bedding. 

 
B. Type 0 waste -- Trash, a mixture of highly combustible waste such as paper, 

cardboard cartons, wood boxes, and combustible floor sweepings, from 
commercial and industrial activities.  The mixture may contain up to 10% by 
weight of plastic bags, coated paper, laminated paper, treated corrugated 
cardboard, oily rags and plastic or rubber scraps. 

 This condition is necessary to ensure compliance with Rule 201. 
 
3. The applicant shall not operate the incinerator unless an average temperature of 1600 

degrees Fahrenheit and a minimum retention time of 1.0 second in the secondary 
combustion chamber is maintained.  This condition is necessary to ensure compliance 
with best available control technology for toxics (T-BACT) which has been established 
pursuant to Rules 224 and 225. 

 
4. Proper operation and adequate maintenance of the incinerator to control emissions is 

required.  A list of recommended operating and maintenance procedures is enclosed.  
This condition is necessary to ensure compliance with Rules 301 and 910. 

 
5. The exhaust gases from the incinerator shall be discharged unobstructed vertically 

upwards to the ambient air from a stack with a maximum diameter of 18 inches at an exit 
point not less than 20 feet above ground level. 

 This condition is necessary to ensure compliance with Rules 224 and 225. 
 
6. Monthly records of the types of waste charged to the incinerator, the periods of time 

during which waste is burned, and the average temperature in each secondary chamber 
during operation shall be kept on file for a period of at least two years and made 
available to the Air Quality Division upon request.  This condition is necessary to ensure 
compliance with the federal Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources, 
40 CFR Part 60, Subpart Ec (60.50c (b)). 
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INCINERATOR OPERATION GUIDELINES 
 
 
1. Designate a trained operator for your unit and make that person responsible for 

compliance with the air pollution control requirements. 
 
2. Grates should be cleaned before each day’s operation (more often if necessary), and the 

ashes disposed of properly. 
 
3. Preheat the unit with the burners (not with waste) for at least 15 minutes. 
 
4. Do not overload the incinerator.  Stay within the given loading rates, and follow the 

manufacturer’s instructions. 
 
5. Schedule charges to minimize opening the charging door as infrequently as possible.  

Opening the charging door lets cold air in and quenches the fire causing smoke. 
 
6. Burn only the type of wastes that your incinerator has been approved to burn.  Follow 

the manufacturer’s instructions to maximize the efficiency of the unit, and to properly 
burn the waste(s). 

 
7. Keep the combustion air adjusted according to the manufacturer’s instructions. 
 
8. Observe the stack frequently and adjust your operation as necessary to eliminate smoke 

and flyash. 
 
9. A copy of the manufacturer’s manual and this Guideline should be posted near your 

incinerator. 
 
10. Make quarterly inspections to check and service all of the equipment.  If you do not have 

a qualified person available for proper inspections, a service contract with a reputable 
manufacturer is advisable. 

 
10-6-95 


