
 SUPPLEMENT TO PERMIT NO. 282-98 
 
 Michigan Recovery Systems, Inc. 
 Romulus, Michigan 
 

March 6, 2000 
 
 GENERAL CONDITIONS 
 
1. Rule 201(1) - The process or process equipment covered by this permit shall not be 

reconstructed, relocated, altered, or modified, unless a Permit to Install authorizing such action 
is issued by the Department, except to the extent such action is exempt from the Permit to 
Install requirements by any applicable rule.   

 
2. Rule 201(4) - If the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of the equipment for 

which this permit has been approved has not commenced within 18 months, or has been 
interrupted for 18 months, this permit shall become void unless otherwise authorized by the 
Department.  Furthermore, the person to whom this permit was issued, or the designated 
authorized agent, shall notify the Department via the Supervisor, Permit Section, Air Quality 
Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 30260, Lansing, Michigan 
48909, if it is decided not to pursue the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of 
the equipment allowed by this Permit to Install. 

 
3. Rule 201(6)(a) - If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process equipment located at 

a stationary source that is subject to the Renewable Operating Permit program requirements 
pursuant to R 336.1210, trial operation is allowed by this permit if the equipment performs in 
accordance with the terms and conditions of this Permit to Install and until the appropriate 
terms and conditions of this Permit to Install have been incorporated into the Renewable 
Operating Permit.  Upon incorporation of the appropriate terms and conditions into the 
Renewable Operating Permit, this Permit to Install shall become void. 

 
4. Rules 201(6)(b) - If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process equipment located 

at a stationary source that is not subject to the Renewable Operating Permit program 
requirements pursuant to R 336.1210, operation of the process or process equipment is 
allowed by this permit if the equipment performs in accordance with the terms and condition of 
this Permit to Install. 

 
5. Rule 201(8) and Section 5510 of Act 451, P.A. 1994 - The Department may, after notice and 

opportunity for a hearing, revoke this Permit to Install if evidence indicates the process or 
process equipment is not performing in accordance with the terms and conditions of this 
permit or is violating the Departments’ rules or the Clean Air Act.   

 
6. Rule 219 - The terms and conditions of this Permit to Install shall apply to any person or legal 

entity that now or hereafter owns or operates the process or process equipment at the location 
authorized by this Permit to Install.  If the new owner or operator submits a written request to 
the Department pursuant to R 336.1219 and the Department approves the request, this permit 
will be amended to reflect the change of ownership or operational control.  The request must 
include all of the information required by subrules (1)(a), (b) and (c) of R 336.1219.  The 
written request shall be sent to the District Supervisor, Air Quality Division, Michigan 
Department of Environmental Quality. 

 
7. Rule 901 - Operation of this equipment shall not result in the emission of an air contaminant 

which causes injurious effects to human health or safety, animal life, plant life of significant 
economic value, or property, or which causes unreasonable interference with the comfortable 
enjoyment of life and property.   
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8. Rule 912 - The owner or operator of a source, process, or process equipment shall provide 

notice of an abnormal condition, start-up, shutdown, or malfunction that results in emissions of 
a hazardous or toxic air pollutant in excess of standards for more than one hour, or of any air 
contaminant in excess of standards for more than two hours, as required in this rule, to the 
District Supervisor, Air Quality Division.  The notice shall be provided not later than two 
business days after start-up, shutdown, or discovery of the abnormal condition or malfunction.  
Written reports, if required, must be filed with the District Supervisor within 10 days, with the 
information required in this rule.   

 
9. Approval of this permit does not exempt the person to whom this permit was issued from 

complying with any future applicable requirements which may be promulgated under Part 55 
of Act 451, P.A. 1994 or the Clean Air Act.   

 
10. Approval of this permit does not obviate the necessity of obtaining such permits or approvals 

from other units of government as required by law.   
 
11. Operation of this equipment may be subject to other requirements of Part 55 of Act 451, P.A. 

1994, and the rules promulgated thereunder. 
 
12. Rule 301 - Except as provided in subrules (2) and (3) or unless the special conditions of this 

Permit to Install include an alternate opacity limit established pursuant to subrule (4) of 
R 336.1301, a person shall not cause or permit to be discharged into the outer air from a 
process or process equipment a visible emission of density greater than the most stringent of 
the following.  The grading of visible emissions shall be determined in accordance with 
R 336.1303.  

 
a) A 6-minute average of 20% opacity, except for one 6-minute average per hour of 

not more than 27% opacity. 
b) A visible emission limit specified by an applicable federal new source performance 

standard. 
c) A visible emission limit specified as a special condition of this permit to install. 

 
13. Rule 370 - Collected air contaminants shall be removed as necessary to maintain the 

equipment at the required operating efficiency.  The collection and disposal of air 
contaminants shall be performed in a manner so as to minimize the introduction of 
contaminants to the outer air.  Transport of collected air contaminants in Priority I and II areas 
requires the use of material handling methods specified in R 336.1370(2).   

 
14.   Rule 285 - Except as allowed by Rule 285 (a), (b), and (c), applicant shall not substitute any 

fuels, coatings, nor raw materials for those described in the application and allowed by this 
permit, nor make changes to the process or process equipment described in the application, 
without prior notification to and approval by the Air Quality Division. 

 
15. The Department may require the applicant to conduct acceptable performance tests, at the 

applicant’s expense, in accordance with R 336.2001 and R 336.2003, under any of the 
conditions listed in R 336.2001.  
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SPECIAL CONDITIONS 
(11 special conditions) 

       March 6, 2000 
 
 
1. For purposes of this permit to install, all requirements for notifications or submittal of records to 

or approvals by the District Supervisor, Air Quality Division should be submitted to the Director of 
Compliance and Enforcement, Air Quality Management Division, Wayne County, Department of 
Environment unless you are otherwise notified in writing by the Air Quality Division.  At no time 
shall notifications or submittals to or approvals by both agencies be required pursuant to this 
permit. 

 
2. The pollutant emission rates from the drum emptying and pumping system, hereinafter EU-DES, 

shall not exceed any of the mass emission rates listed in Table 1.  The annual limits shall be 
based upon a 12-month rolling time period as determined at the end of each calendar month.  
(R336.1702(a), R336.1224, R336.1225) 

 

Table 1.  Mass Emission Rates 
 

Pollutant Pounds Per Hour Tons Per Year 

sum of volatile organic compounds 
(VOC) and acetone 

3.11 3.40 

methylene chloride ----- 0.914 

trichloroethylene ----- 0.274 

 
3. The applicant shall not process any drum through EU-DES with a methylene chloride volumetric 

fraction in the drum’s liquid phase that exceeds 0.170.  A written record of the methylene chloride 
volumetric fraction in each drum’s liquid phase shall be kept on file for a period of at least five 
years and made available to the Department upon request.  (R336.1225) 

 
4. The applicant shall not process any drum through EU-DES with a trichloroethylene volumetric 

fraction in the drum’s liquid phase that exceeds 0.293.  A written record of the trichloroethylene 
volumetric fraction in each drum’s liquid phase shall be kept on file for a period of at least five 
years and made available to the Department upon request. (R336.1225) 

 
5. Applicant shall not operate the EU-DES unless the carbon adsorption canister control device is 

installed and operating properly.  (R336.1702(a), R336.1224, R336.1225) 
 
6. Applicant shall equip and maintain the carbon adsorption canister control device with a saturation 

indicator and change the carbon adsorption canister within 48 hours of indication that the carbon 
bed is 70 percent expended.  Applicant shall record the level of saturation on a daily basis.  The 
records described above shall be kept on file for a period of at least five years and made 
available to the Department upon request. (R336.1910) 
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7. The applicant shall not process more than 10,250 gallons of material through EU-DES per 

day.  A daily written record of the amount of material processed shall be kept on file for a 
period of at least five years and made available to the Department upon request.  (R336.1225) 

 
8. The exhaust gases from EU-DES shall be discharged to the ambient air from a stack with a 

maximum diameter of 12 inches at an exit point not less than 5 feet above ground level.  
(R336.1225) 

 
9. The applicant shall monitor and record the hours of operation for EU-DES on a daily basis.  A 

daily written record of the hours of operation shall be kept on file for a period of at least five years 
and made available to the Department upon request.  (R336.1702(a), R336.1224, R336.1225) 

 
10. The applicant shall calculate the sum of the VOC and acetone emission rates from the EU-DES 

according to the methodology described in Appendix A.  A monthly emission rate shall be 
calculated at the end of each calendar month.  An hourly emission rate shall be calculated based 
upon the monthly emission rate prorated to an hourly emission rate.  A written record of the 
emission rates described above shall be kept on file for a period of at least five years and made 
available to the Department upon request.  (R336.1702(a), R336.1224) 

 
11. The applicant shall calculate the monthly methylene chloride emission rate and the monthly 

trichloroethylene emission rate from the EU-DES according to the methodology described in 
Appendix A.  The monthly emission rates shall be calculated at the end of each calendar month.  
A written record of the emission rates described above shall be kept on file for a period of at 
least five years and made available to the Department upon request.  (R336.1225) 
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Appendix A to Permit to Install No. 282-98 
 

Emissions Calculation Methodology 
 

(from EPA-450/2-78-029) 
 
 
 


