
SUPPLEMENT TO PERMIT NO. 544-95B 
Thumb Electric Cooperative 

Caro, Michigan 
February 29, 2000 

 
GENERAL CONDITIONS 

 
1. Rule 201(1) - The process or process equipment covered by this permit shall not 

be reconstructed, relocated, altered, or modified, unless a Permit to Install 
authorizing such action is issued by the Department, except to the extent such 
action is exempt from the Permit to Install requirements by any applicable rule. 

 
2. Rule 201(4) - If the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of the 

equipment for which this permit has been approved has not commenced within 
18 months, or has been interrupted for 18 months, this permit shall become void 
unless otherwise authorized by the Department.  Furthermore, the person to 
whom this permit was issued, or the designated authorized agent, shall notify the 
Department via the Supervisor, Permit Section, Air Quality Division, Michigan 
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 30260, Lansing, Michigan 
48909, if it is decided not to pursue the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or 
alteration of the equipment allowed by this Permit to Install. 

 
3. Rule 201(6)(a) - If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process 

equipment located at a stationary source that is subject to the Renewable 
Operating Permit program requirements pursuant to R 336.1210, trial operation 
is allowed by this permit if the equipment performs in accordance with the terms 
and conditions of this Permit to Install and until the appropriate terms and 
conditions of this Permit to Install have been incorporated into the Renewable 
Operating Permit.  Upon incorporation of the appropriate terms and conditions 
into the Renewable Operating Permit, this Permit to Install shall become void. 

 
4. Rules 201(6)(b) -  If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process 

equipment located at a stationary source that is not subject to the Renewable 
Operating Permit program requirements pursuant to R 336.1210, operation of 
the process or process equipment is allowed by this permit if the equipment 
performs in accordance with the terms and conditions of this Permit to Install. 

 
5. Rule 201(8) and Section 5510 of Act 451, P.A. 1994 - The Department may, 

after notice and opportunity for a hearing, revoke this Permit to Install if evidence 
indicates the process or process equipment is not performing in accordance with 
the terms and conditions of this permit or is violating the Departments' rules or 
the Clean Air Act. 

 
6. Rule 219 - The terms and conditions of this Permit to Install shall apply to any 

person or legal entity that now or hereafter owns or operates the process or 
process equipment at the location authorized by this Permit to Install.  If the new 
owner or operator submits a written request to the Department pursuant to R 
336.1219 and the Department approves the request, this permit will be amended 
to reflect the change of ownership or operational control.  The request must 
include all of the information required by subrules (1)(a), (b) and (c) of R 
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336.1219.  The written request shall be sent to the District Supervisor, Air Quality 
Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality. 

 
7. Rule 901 - Operation of this equipment shall not result in the emission of an air 

contaminant which causes injurious effects to human health or safety, animal 
life, plant life of significant economic value, or property, or which causes 
unreasonable interference with the comfortable enjoyment of life and property. 

 
8. Rule 912 - The owner or operator of a source, process, or process equipment 

shall provide notice of an abnormal condition, start-up, shutdown, or malfunction 
that results in emissions of a hazardous or toxic air pollutant in excess of 
standards for more than one hour, or of any air contaminant in excess of 
standards for more than two hours, as required in this rule, to the District 
Supervisor, Air Quality Division.  The notice shall be provided not later than two 
business days after start-up, shutdown, or discovery of the abnormal condition or 
malfunction.  Written reports, if required, must be filed with the District 
Supervisor within 10 days, with the information required in this rule. 

 
9. Approval of this permit does not exempt the person to whom this permit was 

issued from complying with any future applicable requirements which may be 
promulgated under Part 55 of Act 451, P.A. 1994 or the Clean Air Act. 

 
10. Approval of this permit does not obviate the necessity of obtaining such permits 

or approvals from other units of government as required by law. 
 
11. Operation of this equipment may be subject to other requirements of Part 55 of 

Act 451, P.A. 1994, and the rules promulgated thereunder. 
 
12. Rule 301 - Except as provided in subrules (2), and (3) or unless the special 

conditions of the Permit to Install include an alternate opacity limit established 
pursuant to subrule (4) of R 336.1301, a person shall not cause or permit to be 
discharged into the outer air from a process or process equipment a visible 
emission of density greater than the most stringent of the following.  The grading 
of visible emissions shall be determined in accordance with R 336.1303.  

 
a)   A 6-minute average of 20% opacity, except for one 6-minute average per 

hour of not more than 27% opacity. 
 
b)  A visible emission limit specified by an applicable federal new source 

performance standard. 
 
c)   A visible emission limit specified as a condition of this permit to install. 
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13. Rule 370 - Collected air contaminants shall be removed as necessary to 

maintain the equipment at the required operating efficiency.  The collection and 
disposal of air contaminants shall be performed in a manner so as to minimize 
the introduction of contaminants to the outer air.  Transport of collected air 
contaminants in Priority I and II areas requires the use of material handling 
methods specified in R 336.1370(2). 

 
14. Rule 285 - Except as allowed by Rule 285 (a), (b), and (c), applicant shall not 

substitute any fuels, coatings, nor raw materials for those described in the 
application and allowed by this permit, nor make changes to the process or 
process equipment described in the application, without prior notification to and 
approval by the Air Quality Division. 

 
15. The Department may require the applicant to conduct acceptable performance 

tests, at the applicant's expense, in accordance with R 336.2001 and R 
336.2003, under any of the conditions listed in R 336.2001. 
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SPECIAL CONDITIONS 
(8 Special Conditions) 

February 29, 2000 
 

 
1. The total nitrogen oxides, hereafter "NOx," 12-month rolling time period 

emissions from units 1-6 shall not exceed 88 tons. The applicant shall monitor 
and record individually for each unit the daily natural gas usage rate for Unit 5 
and the daily fuel oil usage rate for Units 1-6.  Within 30 days at the end of each 
calendar month, the applicant shall calculate the previous 12-month emissions of 
nitrogen oxides for Units 1-6 using the equation below.  The daily natural gas 
and fuel oil usage rates and the emission rate calculation shall be kept on file for 
a period of five years and made available to the Air Quality Division upon 
request.  This information may be stored electronically in a format acceptable to 
the Air Quality Division.  This condition is necessary to ensure that Units 1-6 are 
not a major source as defined in the federal Prevention of Significant 
Deterioration (PSD) Regulations, 40 CFR 52.21 and Rule 211 (a)(ii) and to 
ensure compliance with Rules 205 (1)(a) and 205 (3).  

                       

Fuel Type 
Emission Factor 

for NOx 

Natural Gas 2.6 lb/1000ft3* 

No. 2 Fuel Oil 502.8 lb/1000gal** 

            
            *Hereafter referred to as "NGEF". 
           **Hereafter referred to as "FOEF".           
    

          Tons NOx per 12-month rolling time period = NGEF X A + FOEF X B 
  
 A = The actual natural gas usage for the previous 12-month time period in cubic   
                   feet for Unit  5.  
            B = The actual fuel oil usage for the previous 12-month time period in gallons for  
                   Units 1-6. 
 
2. The NOx emission rate from Units 1-6, when firing #2 fuel oil, shall not exceed 

8,088 pounds per calendar day.  This condition is necessary to ensure 
compliance with 40 CFR 52.21 paragraphs (c) and (d). 

 
3. The NOx emission rate from Unit 5, when firing natural gas and #2 fuel oil, shall 

not exceed 1,219 pounds per calendar day. This condition is necessary to 
ensure compliance with 40 CFR 52.21 paragraphs (c) and (d). 

 
4.  The total carbon monoxide, hereafter "CO," emission rate from Units 1-6, when 

firing #2 fuel oil, shall not exceed 542.4 pounds per calendar day.  This condition 
is necessary to ensure compliance with 40 CFR 52.21 paragraphs (c) and (d). 
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5. The CO emission rate from Unit 5, when firing natural gas and #2 fuel oil, shall 
not exceed 273.6 pounds per calendar day. This condition is necessary to 
ensure compliance with 40 CFR 52.21 paragraphs (c) and (d). 

 
6.  The sulfur dioxide emission rate from Units 1-6 shall not exceed 0.56 pound per 

million BTU’s heat input, based on a 24-hour period.  This is equivalent to using 
#2 fuel oil with a 0.50% sulfur content and a heat value of 19,300 BTU’s per 
pound.  This condition is necessary to ensure compliance with the emission 
limits for sulfur dioxide established pursuant to Rule 401. 

 
7.         The sulfur dioxide emission rate from Units 1-6, when firing No. 2 fuel oil, shall 
            not exceed the following limits: 
 

Unit 
Pounds per 

calendar day 

1 170.4 

2 170.4 

3 169.4 

4 182.4 

5 248.2 

6 243.4 

 
           This condition is necessary to ensure compliance with 40 CFR 52.21 paragraphs  
           (c) and (d). 
 
8. The exhaust gases from Units 1-6 shall be discharged unobstructed vertically 

upwards to the ambient air from stacks with the following dimensions: 
                                      

Unit 
Diameter 

(inches) 

Minimum Height 

above ground                                                 
level (feet) 

1 14.5 23.5 

2 14.5 23.5 

3 14.5 23.5 

4 16.0 23.5 

5 16.0 23.5 

6 16.0 23.5 

 
 This condition is necessary to ensure compliance with the National Ambient Air 

Quality Standards pursuant to the federal Clean Air Act as amended in 1990 and 
40 CFR 52.21 paragraphs (c) and (d). 

 


