
SUPPLEMENT TO PERMIT NO. 580-89A 

Century Sun Metal Treating 
Traverse City, Michigan 

August 5, 1998 

GENERAL CONDITIONS 

1. Rule 201 (1) - The process or process equipment covered by this permit 
shall not be reconstructed, relocated, altered, or modified, unless a Permit 
to Install authorizing such action is issued by the Department, except to 
the extent such action is exempt from the Permit to Install requirements by 
any applicable rule. 

2. Rule 201 (4) - If the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of 
the equipment for which this permit has been approved has not 
commenced within 18 months, or has been interrupted for 18 months, this 
permit shall become void unless otherwise authorized by the Department. 
Furthermore, the person to whom this permit was issued, or the 
designated authorized agent, shall notify the Department via the 
Supervisor, Permit Section, Air Quality Division, Michigan Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 30260, Lansing, Michigan 48909, if it is 
decided not to pursue the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or 
alteration of the equipment allowed by this Permit to Install. 

3. Rule 201 (6)(a) - If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process 
equipment located at a stationary source that is subject to the Renewable 
Operating Permit program requirements pursuant to R 336.1210, trial 
operation is allowed by this permit if the equipment performs in 
a6cordance with the terms and conditions of this Permit to Install and until 
the appropriate terms and conditions of this Permit to Install have been 
incorporated into the Renewable Operating Permit. Upon incorporation of 
the appropriate terms and conditions into the Renewable Operating 
Permit, this Permit to Install shall become void. 

4. Rules 201 (6)(b)- If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process 
equipment located at a stationary source that is not subject to the 
Renewable Operating Permit program requirements pursuant to R 
336.1210, operation of the process or process equipment is allowed by 
this permit if the equipment performs in accordance with the terms and 
conditions of this Permit to Install. 

5. Rule 201 (8) and Section 5510 of Act 451, P.A. 1994 - The Department 
may, after notice and opportunity for a hearing, revoke this Permit to 
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Install if evidence indicates the process or process equipment is not 
performing in accordance with the terms and conditions of this permit or is 
violating the Departments' rules or the Clean Air Act. 

6. Rule 219 -The terms and conditions of this Permit to Install shall apply to 
any person or legal entity that now or hereafter owns or operates the 
process or process equipment at the location authorized by this Permit to 
Install. If the new owner or operator submits a written request to the 
Department pursuant to R 336.1219 and the Department approves the 
request, this permit will be amended to reflect the change of ownership or 
operational control. The request must include all of the information 
required by subrules (1)(a), (b) and (c) of R 336.1219. The written 
request shall be sent to the District Supervisor, Air Quality Division, 
Michigan Department of Environmental Quality. 

f! . -· 

7. Rule 901 - Operation of this equipment shall not result in the emission of 
an air contaminant which causes injurious effects to human health or 
safety, animal life, plant life of significant economic value, or property, or 
which causes unreasonable interference with the comfortable enjoyment 
of life and property. 

8. Rule 912 - The owner or operator of a source, process, or process 
equipment shall provide notice of an abnormal condition, start-up, 
shutdown, or malfunction that results in emissions of a hazardous or toxic 
air pollutant in excess of standards for more than one hour, or of any air 
cdntaminant in excess of standards for more than two hours, as required 
ir)this rule, to the District Supervisor, Air Quality Division. The notice shall 
be provided not later than two business days after start-up, shutdown, or 
discovery of the abnormal condition or malfunction. Written reports, if 
required, must be filed with the District Supervisor within 10 days, with the 

' ir'lformation required in this rule. 

9. Approval of this permit does not exempt the person to whom this permit 
Wl3S issued from complying with any future applicable requirements which 
m\:ty be promulgated under Part 55 of Act 451, P.A. 1994 or the Clean Air 
Act. 

10. Approval of this permit dqes not obviate the necessity of obtaining such 
permits or approvals from other units of government as required by law. 

Michigan Department of Environmental Quality 
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11. Operation of this equipment may be subject to other requirements of Part 
55 of Act 451, P.A. 1994, and the rules promulgated thereunder. 

12. Rule 301 - Except as provided in subrules (2), and (3) or unless the 
s~ecial conditions of the Permit to Install include an alternate opacity limit 
e'stablished pursuant to subrule (4) of R 336.1301, a person shall not 
cause or permit to be discharged into the outer air from a process or 
process equipment a visible emission of density greater than the most 
stringent of the following. The grading of visible emissions shall be 
determined in accordance with R 336.1303. 

a) A 6-minute average of 20% opacity, except for one 6-minute average 
per hour of not more than 27% opacity. 

b)'" A ·visible emission limit specified by an applicable federal new source 
performance standard. 

c) A visible emission limit specified as a condition of this permit to install. 

13. Rule 370- Collected air contaminants shall be removed as necessary to 
IT)aintain the equipment at the required operating efficiency. The 
collection and disposal of air contaminants shall be performed in a 
rti'anner so as to minimize the introduction of contaminants to the outer air. 
T?ansport of collected air contaminants in Priority I and II areas requires 
tl{e use of material handling methods specified in R 336.1370(2). 

14. R'ule 285- Except as allowed by Rule 285 (a), (b), and (c), applicant shall 
not substitute any fuels, coatings, nor raw materials for those described in 
the application and allowed by this permit, nor make changes to the 
process or process equipment described in the application, without prior 
notification to and approval by the Air Quality Division. 

:) 
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SPECIAL CONDITIONS 

1. Visible emissions from the salt bath furnaces, hereinafter "process," shall 
not exceed a 6-minute average of 20 % opacity, except as specified in 
Rule 301 (1 )(a). This condition is necessary to assure compliance with the 
maximum allowed emission density pursuant to Rule 331. 

2. The particulate emission from the process shall not exceed 0.10 pound 
per 1,000 pounds of exhaust gases, nor 3.8 pounds per hour nor 16.7 
tons per year, calculated on a dry gas basis. This condition is necessary 
to assure compliance with the emission limits for particulate matter which 
have been established pursuant to Rule 331. 

' 

3. A~piicant shall not operate the process unless the associated dust control 
collectors are installed and operating properly. 

4. Applicant shall equip and maintain the dust collectors with a gauge to 
measure the pressure drop across each dust collector. 

5. The exhaust gases from the process shall be discharged unobstructed 
upwards to the ambient air from stacks with diameter dimensions and 
stack height above ground level as specified below: 

j. ,.; 

Equipment Model 
4PC16 
04PC48 

Stack Height (feet) 
27 
31 

Stack Dimensions (inches) 
12 X 12 
15 X 21 

6. Verification of particulate emission rates from the process by testing, at 
owner's expense, in accordance with Department requirements, may be 
required. The testing shall be conducted within 60 days following the 
receipt of the written notification of the requirement. Verification of 
emission rates includes the submittal of a complete report of the test 
results. If testing is required, a complete test plan must be submitted to 
the Air Quality Division. The final plan must be approved by the Division 
prior to testing and a complete report of test results must be submitted to 
the Division within 60 days following the last date of testing. This 
condition establishes performance testing requirements pursuant to Rules 
1001, 1003, and 1004 . 
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