
 SUPPLEMENT TO PERMIT NO.  738-85A 
 Eugene Welding Company   
 Marlette,  Michigan 
 November 13, 1998 
 
 
 GENERAL CONDITIONS 
 
1.  Rule 201(1) - The process or process equipment covered by this permit shall not be 

reconstructed, relocated, altered, or modified, unless a Permit to Install authorizing such 
action is issued by the Department, except to the extent such action is exempt from the 
Permit to Install requirements by any applicable rule. 

 
2. Rule 201(4) - If the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of the equipment for 

which this permit has been approved has not commenced within 18 months, or has been 
interrupted for 18 months, this permit shall become void unless otherwise authorized by 
the Department.  Furthermore, the person to whom this permit was issued, or the 
designated authorized agent, shall notify the Department via the Supervisor, Permit 
Section, Air Quality Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 
30260, Lansing, Michigan 48909, if it is decided not to pursue the installation, 
reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of the equipment allowed by this Permit to Install. 

 
3. Rule 201(6)(a) - If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process equipment 

located at a stationary source that is subject to the Renewable Operating Permit program 
requirements pursuant to R 336.1210, trial operation is allowed by this permit if the 
equipment performs in accordance with the terms and conditions of this Permit to Install 
and until the appropriate terms and conditions of this Permit to Install have been 
incorporated into the Renewable Operating Permit.  Upon incorporation of the appropriate 
terms and conditions into the Renewable Operating Permit, this Permit to Install shall 
become void. 

 
4. Rules 201(6)(b) -  If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process equipment 

located at a stationary source that is not subject to the Renewable Operating Permit 
program requirements pursuant to R 336.1210, operation of the process or process 
equipment is allowed by this permit if the equipment performs in accordance with the terms 
and conditions of this Permit to Install. 

 
5. Rule 201(8) and Section 5510 of Act 451, P.A. 1994 - The Department may, after notice 

and opportunity for a hearing, revoke this Permit to Install if evidence indicates the process 
or process equipment is not performing in accordance with the terms and conditions of this 
permit or is violating the Departments' rules or the Clean Air Act. 

 
6. Rule 219 - The terms and conditions of this Permit to Install shall apply to any person or 

legal entity that now or hereafter owns or operates the process or process equipment at 
the location authorized by this Permit to Install.  If the new owner or operator submits a 
written request to the Department pursuant to R 336.1219  and the Department approves 
the request, this permit will be amended to reflect the change of ownership or operational 
control.  The request must include all of the information required by subrules (1)(a), (b) and 
(c) of R 336.1219.  The written request shall be sent to the District Supervisor, Air Quality 
Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality. 

 
7. Rule 901 - Operation of this equipment shall not result in the emission of an air 

contaminant which causes injurious effects to human health or safety, animal life, plant life 
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of significant economic value, or property, or which causes unreasonable interference with 
the comfortable enjoyment of life and property. 

 
8. Rule 912 - The owner or operator of a source, process, or process equipment shall provide 

notice of an abnormal condition, start-up, shutdown, or malfunction that results in 
emissions of a hazardous or toxic air pollutant in excess of standards for more than one 
hour, or of any air contaminant in excess of standards for more than two hours, as 
required in this rule, to the District Supervisor, Air Quality Division.  The notice shall be 
provided not later than two business days after start-up, shutdown, or discovery of the 
abnormal condition or malfunction.  Written reports, if required, must be filed with the 
District Supervisor within 10 days, with the information required in this rule. 

 
9. Approval of this permit does not exempt the person to whom this permit was issued from 

complying with any future applicable requirements which may be promulgated under Part 
55 of Act 451, P.A. 1994 or the Clean Air Act. 

 
10. Approval of this permit does not obviate the necessity of obtaining such permits or 

approvals from other units of government as required by law. 
 
11. Operation of this equipment may be subject to other requirements of Part 55 of Act 451, 

P.A. 1994, and the rules promulgated thereunder. 
 
12. Rule 301 - Except as provided in subrules (2), and (3) or unless the special conditions of 

the Permit to Install include an alternate opacity limit established pursuant to subrule (4) of 
R 336.1301, a person shall not cause or permit to be discharged into the outer air from a 
process or process equipment a visible emission of density greater than the most stringent 
of the following.  The grading of visible emissions shall be determined in accordance with 
R 336.1303.  

 
a)   A 6-minute average of 20% opacity, except for one 6-minute average per hour of not 

more than 27% opacity. 
 
b)   A visible emission limit specified by an applicable federal new source performance 

standard. 
 
c)   A visible emission limit specified as a condition of this permit to install. 

 
13. Rule 370 - Collected air contaminants shall be removed as necessary to maintain the 

equipment at the required operating efficiency. The collection and disposal of air 
contaminants shall be performed in a manner so as to minimize the introduction of 
contaminants to the outer air.  Transport of collected air contaminants in Priority I and II 
areas requires the use of material handling methods specified in R 336.1370(2). 
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14. Rule 285 - Except as allowed by Rule 285 (a), (b), and (c), applicant shall not substitute 

any fuels, coatings, nor raw materials for those described in the application and allowed by 
this permit, nor make changes to the process or process equipment described in the 
application, without prior notification to and approval by the Air Quality Division. 

 
15. The Department may require the applicant to conduct acceptable performance tests, at the 

applicant's expense, in accordance with R 336.2001 and R 336.2003, under any of the 
conditions listed in R 336.2001. 
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SPECIAL CONDITIONS 
 
16. The total volatile organic compound (VOC) emission rate from the conveyorized paint line 

for the coating of miscellaneous metal parts, hereinafter "coating line", shall not exceed  
24.2 pounds per hour nor 24.1 tons per year, based on a 12-month rolling time period  as 
determined at the end of each calendar month. 

  
17. The VOC emission rate from the coating line shall not exceed 3.0 pounds per gallon of 

coating (minus water), as applied.  
  
18. The Hazardous Air Pollutants (HAP) as defined pursuant to section 112 (b) of the Clean Air 

Act, shall be less than 9 tons per year for any individual HAP or 22.5 tons per year for any 
combination of HAPS at this facility.  This annual limit shall be based on a 12-month rolling 
time period as determined at the end of each calendar month.     

  
19. The applicant shall keep a  separate record for each calendar month of the following:  
  
 A.  Number of gallons (including water) of each coating used, as applied. 
  
 B.  The VOC content of each coating used in pounds per gallon (including water) as applied  

     
 C.  The VOC content of each coating used in pounds per gallon (minus water)   
 
 D.  Hours of operation 
  
   
 All such records shall be kept on file for a period of at least five years and made available to 

the Air Quality Division upon request. 
  
20. The applicant shall calculate the following for the coating line for each calendar month, using 

the method detailed in Appendix A, or an alternate method acceptable to the District 
Supervisor: 

 
  A.  A calendar month VOC emission rate in tons per month. 
 
  B.  TOTAL VOC emission rate for the 12-month rolling time period in tons per year  
 
 All such records shall be kept on file for a period of at least five years and made available to 

the Air Quality Division upon request. 
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21.   The applicant shall calculate the following for the coating line for each calendar month, using 

the method detailed in Appendix B, or an alternate method acceptable to the District 
Supervisor: 

 
 A.  Monthly calculations of each HAP emission rate in tons per month by process,   
 
 B.  Monthly calculations of aggregate HAPs emissions in tons per month for all processes at 

       the facility. 
 
 C.  Monthly calculation of HAPs determining a 12-month rolling average emission rate in tons 

       per year. 
 
 All such records shall be kept on file for a period of at least five years and made available to 

the Air Quality Division upon request. 
 
22. Applicant shall maintain a current listing of the chemical composition of each coating and 

reducer, including the weight percentage of each compound.  
  
23. Applicant shall not operate the coating line unless the exhaust filters are installed and 

operating properly. 
  
24. The disposal of spent filters and waste coatings shall be performed in a manner  which 

minimizes the introduction of air contaminants to the outer air.  
  
25. Applicant shall equip and maintain the paint spray booth with airless applicators or an 

equivalent technology with comparable or better transfer efficiency.  All coating applicators 
shall be properly installed, maintained, and operated according to manufacturers’ 
specifications.   

  
26. The exhaust gases from the coating line shall be discharged unobstructed vertically upwards 

to the ambient air from stacks with the following dimensions: 
  
  

Stack Maximum diameter, inches Minimum height above ground (feet) 
Booth 1 30 28 
Booth 2 30 28 
Oven 1 10 28 
Oven 2 10 28 

 



Eugene Welding Company 
Permit No. 738-85A 
Page 6 
November 13, 1998 

 

 
APPENDIX A 

Waterbased coatings, some VOC’s 
 
Company:     Month/year: 
Permit: 
 

  A B C   D   E = (A*C) 
Coating 

ID 
Dat
e 

Gallons 
used 
(with 

water) 

Coating 
density 

(lbs/gallon) 

VOC content 
with water 
(lbs/gal) 

Lbs VOC per 
gallon (minus 

water) 

Lbs of VOC 

       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       

 
Coating VOC emission limit, lbs/gal(minus water)= F F  3.0 lbs/gal 

minus water 
 

Total pounds emitted this month = G =Sum of all E’s          G  
   Total tons VOC’s emitted this month = H = G/2000         H  
   Total tons emitted 11 previous months = J            J  
   Total tons emitted 12-month rolling period = K = H+J K  
   Limit 12 month rolling period, tons/yr =L   K may = L or < L L 24.1 

tons/yr 
 

                        

NOTES:    
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 or D =  value from individual MSDS sheet 



A B C = A x B D1 E1=CxD1/100 D2 E2=CxD2/100 D3 E3=CxD3/100 D4 E4=CxD4/100 D5 E5=CxD5/100

Coating, 
component, 

reducer, or solvent 
ID

Gallons 
used, as 
received

Density in 
lbs/gal

Lbs used
HAP #1 
% by wt

LBS HAP 
#1    

(NAME)

HAP #2 % 
by wt

LBS HAP 
#2     

(NAME)

HAP #3 % 
by wt

LBS HAP 
#3    

(NAME)

HAP #4 
% by wt

LBS HAP 
#4     

(NAME)

HAP #5 
% by wt

LBS HAP 
#5     

(NAME)

APPENDIX B

Month/year:
Company:
Permit No.:

HAPS breakdown for coatings, reducer, and cleaning solvent, control equipment.

F5F4F3F2F1

H1 H2 H3 H4 H5

Tons uncontrolled HAPS this month = F = sum of all E's/2000

Tons individual HAPS for 11 previous months = Hi

J1 J2 J3 J4 J512 month rolling average tons individual HAPS = Ji = Gi + Hi

K K K K K12-month rolling average limit = K.  J may = K or < K

Total tons combined HAPS, this month = L = sum of all H's

Total tons combined HAPS from 11 previous months = M

L

M

N

P

12-month rolling average, combined HAPS = N = L + M

12 month rolling average combined HAPS =P  N may =P or < P

Tons controlled HAPS this month = G = F * Q G1 G2 G3 G4 G5

Notes:
     1.  Q = Control factor
              =  (Capture efficiency % * destruction efficiency %)/10,000

Q Q Q Q QControl factor from equipment = Q = See note 1

 


