NEW SOURCE REVIEW PERMIT TO INSTALL

Table of Contents

Section	Page
Alphabetical Listing of Common Abbreviations / Acronyms	2
General Conditions	3
Emission Unit Identification	5
Emission Unit Special Conditions	5
Appendices	7

Common Abbreviations / Acronyms Used in this Permit to Install

	Common Acronyms	Pollutant/Measurement Abbreviations		
AQD	Air Quality Division	BTU	British Thermal Unit	
BACT	Best Available Control Technology	°C	Degrees Celsius	
CAA	Clean Air Act	CO	Carbon Monoxide	
CEM	Continuous Emission Monitoring	dscf	Dry standard cubic foot	
CFR	Code of Federal Regulations	dscm	Dry standard cubic meter	
COM	Continuous Opacity Monitoring	°F	Degrees Fahrenheit	
EPA	Environmental Protection Agency	gr	Grains	
EU	Emission Unit	Hg	Mercury	
GACS	Gallon of Applied Coating Solids	hr	Hour	
GC	General Condition	H_2S	Hydrogen Sulfide	
HAP	Hazardous Air Pollutant	HP	Horsepower	
HVLP	High Volume Low Pressure *	lb	Pound	
ID	Identification	m	Meter	
LAER	Lowest Achievable Emission Rate	mg	Milligram	
MACT	Maximum Achievable Control Technology	mm	Millimeter	
MAERS	Michigan Air Emissions Reporting System	MM	Million	
MAP	Malfunction Abatement Plan	MW	Megawatts	
MDEQ	Michigan Department of Environmental	NOx	Oxides of Nitrogen	
MSDS	Quality Material Safety Data Sheet	PM	Particulate Matter	
NESHAP	National Emission Standard for Hazardous	PM-10	Particulate Matter less than 10 microns	
NCDC	Air Pollutants		diameter	
NSPS	New Source Performance Standards	pph	Pound per hour	
NSR	New Source Review	ppm	Parts per million	
PS PSD	Performance Specification Provention of Significant Detarioration	ppmv	Parts per million by volume	
	Prevention of Significant Deterioration	ppmw	Parts per million by weight	
PTE PTI	Permanent Total Enclosure Permit to Install	psia	Pounds per square inch absolute	
RACT		psig scf	Pounds per square inch gauge Standard cubic feet	
SC	Reasonable Available Control Technology Special Condition	sec	Seconds	
SCR	Selective Catalytic Reduction	SO_2	Sulfur Dioxide	
SRN	State Registration Number	THC	Total Hydrocarbons	
TAC	Toxic Air Contaminant		Tons per year	
VE VE	Visible Emissions	tpy µg	Microgram	
	Total Limboloms	VOC	Volatile Organic Compounds	
		yr	Year	
		J.		

^{*} For High Volume Low Pressure (HVLP) applicators, the pressure measured at the HVLP gun air cap shall not exceed ten (10) pounds per square inch gauge (psig).

GENERAL CONDITIONS

- 1. The process or process equipment covered by this permit shall not be reconstructed, relocated, altered, or modified, unless a Permit to Install authorizing such action is issued by the Department, except to the extent such action is exempt from the Permit to Install requirements by any applicable rule. [R336.1201(1)]
- 2. If the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of the equipment for which this permit has been approved has not commenced within 18 months, or has been interrupted for 18 months, this permit shall become void unless otherwise authorized by the Department. Furthermore, the person to whom this permit was issued, or the designated authorized agent, shall notify the Department via the Supervisor, Permit Section, Air Quality Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality, PO Box 30260, Lansing, Michigan 48909, if it is decided not to pursue the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of the equipment allowed by this Permit to Install. [R336.1201(4)]
- 3. If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process equipment located at a stationary source that is not subject to the Renewable Operating Permit program requirements pursuant to R336.1210, operation of the process or process equipment is allowed by this permit if the equipment performs in accordance with the terms and conditions of this Permit to Install. [R336.1201(6)(b)]
- 4. The Department may, after notice and opportunity for a hearing, revoke this Permit to Install if evidence indicates the process or process equipment is not performing in accordance with the terms and conditions of this permit or is violating the Department's rules or the Clean Air Act. [R336.1201(8), Section 5510 of Act 451, PA 1994]
- 5. The terms and conditions of this Permit to Install shall apply to any person or legal entity that now or hereafter owns or operates the process or process equipment at the location authorized by this Permit to Install. If the new owner or operator submits a written request to the Department pursuant to R336.1219 and the Department approves the request, this permit will be amended to reflect the change of ownership or operational control. The request must include all of the information required by subrules (1)(a), (b), and (c) of R336.1219. The written request shall be sent to the District Supervisor, Air Quality Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality. [R336.1219]
- 6. Operation of this equipment shall not result in the emission of an air contaminant which causes injurious effects to human health or safety, animal life, plant life of significant economic value, or property, or which causes unreasonable interference with the comfortable enjoyment of life and property. [R336.1901]
- 7. The owner or operator of a source, process, or process equipment shall provide notice of an abnormal condition, start-up, shutdown, or malfunction that results in emissions of a hazardous or toxic air pollutant in excess of standards for more than one hour, or of any air contaminant in excess of standards for more than two hours, as required in this rule, to the District Supervisor, Air Quality Division. The notice shall be provided no later than two business days after start-up, shutdown, or discovery of the abnormal condition or malfunction. Written reports, if required, must be filed with the District Supervisor within ten days, with the information required in this rule. [R336.1912]
- 8. Approval of this permit does not exempt the person to whom this permit was issued from complying with any future applicable requirements which may be promulgated under Part 55 of Act 451, PA 1994 or the Federal Clean Air Act.

- 9. Approval of this permit does not obviate the necessity of obtaining such permits or approvals from other units of government as required by law.
- 10. Operation of this equipment may be subject to other requirements of Part 55 of Act 451, PA 1994, and the rules promulgated thereunder.
- 11. Except as provided in subrules (2) and (3) or unless the special conditions of the Permit to Install include an alternate opacity limit established pursuant to subrule (4) of R336.1301, a person shall not cause or permit to be discharged into the outer air from a process or process equipment a visible emission of density greater than the most stringent of the following. The grading of visible emissions shall be determined in accordance with R336.1303. [R336.1301]
 - a) A six-minute average of 20 percent opacity, except for one six-minute average per hour of not more than 27 percent opacity.
 - b) A visible emission limit specified by an applicable federal new source performance standard.
 - c) A visible emission limit specified as a condition of this permit to install.
- 12. Collected air contaminants shall be removed as necessary to maintain the equipment at the required operating efficiency. The collection and disposal of air contaminants shall be performed in a manner so as to minimize the introduction of contaminants to the outer air. Transport of collected air contaminants in Priority I and II areas requires the use of material handling methods specified in R336.1370(2). [R336.1370]
- 13. Except as allowed by Rule 285 (a), (b), and (c), applicant shall not substitute any fuels, coatings, nor raw materials for those described in the application and allowed by this permit, nor make changes to the process or process equipment described in the application, without prior notification to and approval by the Air Quality Division. [R336.1201(1)]
- 14. The Department may require the applicant to conduct acceptable performance tests, at the applicant's expense, in accordance with R336.2001 and R336.2003, under any of the conditions listed in R336.2001. [R336.2001]

SPECIAL CONDITIONS

Emission Unit Identification

Emission Unit ID	Emission Unit Description	Stack Identification
EUINCINERATOR	State Line Equipment 6' Brute fuel oil fired	SVINCINERATOR
	incinerator	

The following conditions apply to: EUINCINERATOR

Emission Limits

	Pollutant	Limit	Time Period	Compliance Method	Applicable Requirements
1.1	PM	0.20 pounds per 1,000 pounds of exhaust gases, corrected to 50% excess air.	Test Method	GC 11, GC 14	R336.1331

Material Usage Limits

1.2 The permittee shall not burn any waste in EUINCINERATOR other than the following wastes: [40 CFR 60.51c]

Pathological wastes—As defined in the federal Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources, 40 CFR 60.51c, pathological waste means waste materials consisting of only human or animal remains, anatomical parts, and/or tissue; the bags/containers used to collect and transport the waste material; and animal bedding.

Process/Operational Limits

- 1.3 The permittee shall not combust waste in EUINCINERATOR unless a minimum temperature of 1600 degrees Fahrenheit and a minimum retention time of 0.75 seconds in the secondary combustion chamber are maintained. [R336.1301, R336.1331, R336.1910]
- 1.4 The incinerator shall be installed, maintained, and operated in a satisfactory manner to control emissions from EUINCINERATOR. A list of recommended operating and maintenance procedures is specified in Appendix A. [R336.1301, R336.1331, R336.1910]

Monitoring

1.5 The permittee shall install, calibrate, maintain, and operate in a satisfactory manner a device to monitor and record the temperature in the secondary combustion chamber of EUINCINERATOR on a continuous basis. [R336.1301, R336.1331, R336.1901]

Recordkeeping/Reporting/Notification

1.6 The permittee shall keep, in a satisfactory manner, daily records of the description and weight of waste combusted in EUINCINERATOR. All records are for the purpose of compliance demonstration and shall be kept on file for a period of at least five years and made available to the Department upon request. [R336.1205, 40 CFR 60.50c(b)]

1.7 The permittee shall keep, in a satisfactory manner, secondary combustion chamber temperature records for EUINCINERATOR. All records are for the purpose of compliance demonstration and shall be kept on file for a period of at least five years and made available to the Department upon request. [R336.1301, R336.1301]

Stack/Vent Restrictions

	Stack & Vent ID	Maximum Diameter (inches)	Minimum Height Above Ground Level (feet)	Applicable Requirements
1.8	SVINCINERATOR	8.5	10	R336.1901
	The exhaust gases shall be discharged unobstructed vertically upwards to the ambient air.			

APPENDIX A Incinerator Operation and Maintenance Guidelines

- 1. Designate a trained operator for your unit and make that person responsible for compliance with the air pollution control requirements.
- 2. Grates should be cleaned before each day's operation (more often if necessary), and the ashes disposed of properly.
- 3. Preheat the unit with the burners (not with waste) for at least 15 minutes.
- 4. Do not overload the incinerator. Stay within the given loading rates, and follow the manufacturer's instructions.
- 5. Schedule charges to minimize opening the charging door as infrequently as possible. Opening the charging door lets cold air in and quenches the fire causing smoke.
- 6. Burn only the type of wastes that your incinerator has been approved to burn. Follow the manufacturer's instructions to maximize the efficiency of the unit, and to properly burn the waste(s).
- 7. Keep the combustion air adjusted according to the manufacturer's instructions.
- 8. Observe the stack frequently and adjust your operation as necessary to eliminate smoke and fly ash.
- 9. A copy of the manufacturer's manual and this Guideline should be posted near your incinerator.
- 10. Make quarterly inspections to check and service all of the equipment. If you do not have a qualified person available for proper inspections, a service contract with a reputable manufacturer is advisable.