SUPPLEMENT to PERMIT No. 331-99 Bronson Plating Co Bronson, Michigan November 19, 1999

GENERAL CONDITIONS

- 1. Rule 201(1) The process or process equipment covered by this permit shall not be reconstructed, relocated, altered, or modified, unless a Permit to Install authorizing such action is issued by the Department, except to the extent such action is exempt from the Permit to Install requirements by any applicable rule.
- 2. Rule 201(4) If the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of the equipment for which this permit has been approved has not commenced within 18 months, or has been interrupted for 18 months, this permit shall become void unless otherwise authorized by the Department. Furthermore, the person to whom this permit was issued, or the designated authorized agent, shall notify the Department via the Supervisor, Permit Section, Air Quality Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 30260, Lansing, Michigan 48909, if it is decided not to pursue the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of the equipment allowed by this Permit to Install.
- 3. Rule 201(6)(a) If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process equipment located at a stationary source that is subject to the Renewable Operating Permit program requirements pursuant to R 336.1210, trial operation is allowed by this permit if the equipment performs in accordance with the terms and conditions of this Permit to Install and until the appropriate terms and conditions of this Permit to Install have been incorporated into the Renewable Operating Permit. Upon incorporation of the appropriate terms and conditions into the Renewable Operating Permit, this Permit to Install shall become void.
- 4. Rules 201(6)(b) If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process equipment located at a stationary source that is not subject to the Renewable Operating Permit program requirements pursuant to R 336.1210, operation of the process or process equipment is allowed by this permit if the equipment performs in accordance with the terms and conditions of this Permit to Install.
- 5. Rule 201(8) and Section 5510 of Act 451, P.A. 1994 The Department may, after notice and opportunity for a hearing, revoke this Permit to Install if evidence indicates the process or process equipment is not performing in accordance with the terms and conditions of this permit or is violating the Departments' rules or the Clean Air Act.
- 6. Rule 219 The terms and conditions of this Permit to Install shall apply to any person or legal entity that now or hereafter owns or operates the process or process equipment at the location authorized by this Permit to Install. If the new owner or operator submits a written request to the Department pursuant to R 336.1219 and the Department approves the request, this permit will be amended to reflect the change of ownership or operational control. The request must include all of the information required by subrules (1)(a), (b) and (c) of R 336.1219. The written request shall be sent to the District Supervisor, Air Quality Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality.

- 7. Rule 901 Operation of this equipment shall not result in the emission of an air contaminant which causes injurious effects to human health or safety, animal life, plant life of significant economic value, or property, or which causes unreasonable interference with the comfortable enjoyment of life and property.
- 8. Rule 912 The owner or operator of a source, process, or process equipment shall provide notice of an abnormal condition, start-up, shutdown, or malfunction that results in emissions of a hazardous or toxic air pollutant in excess of standards for more than one hour, or of any air contaminant in excess of standards for more than two hours, as required in this rule, to the District Supervisor, Air Quality Division. The notice shall be provided not later than two business days after start-up, shutdown, or discovery of the abnormal condition or malfunction. Written reports, if required, must be filed with the District Supervisor within 10 days, with the information required in this rule.
- 9. Approval of this permit does not exempt the person to whom this permit was issued from complying with any future applicable requirements which may be promulgated under Part 55 of Act 451, P.A. 1994 or the Clean Air Act.
- 10. Approval of this permit does not obviate the necessity of obtaining such permits or approvals from other units of government as required by law.
- 11. Operation of this equipment may be subject to other requirements of Part 55 of Act 451, P.A. 1994, and the rules promulgated thereunder.
- 12. Rule 301 Except as provided in subrules (2), and (3) or unless the special conditions of the Permit to Install include an alternate opacity limit established pursuant to subrule (4) of R 336.1301, a person shall not cause or permit to be discharged into the outer air from a process or process equipment a visible emission of density greater than the most stringent of the following. The grading of visible emissions shall be determined in accordance with R 336.1303.
 - a) A 6-minute average of 20% opacity, except for one 6-minute average per hour of not more than 27% opacity.
 - b) A visible emission limit specified by an applicable federal new source performance standard.
 - c) A visible emission limit specified as a condition of this permit to install.
- 13. Rule 370 Collected air contaminants shall be removed as necessary to maintain the equipment at the required operating efficiency. The collection and disposal of air contaminants shall be performed in a manner so as to minimize the introduction of contaminants to the outer air. Transport of collected air contaminants in Priority I and II areas requires the use of material handling methods specified in R 336.1370(2).

Bronson Plating Co Permit No. 331-99 Page No. 3 November 19, 1999

- 14. Rule 285 Except as allowed by Rule 285 (a), (b), and (c), applicant shall not substitute any fuels, coatings, nor raw materials for those described in the application and allowed by this permit, nor make changes to the process or process equipment described in the application, without prior notification to and approval by the Air Quality Division.
- 15. The Department may require the applicant to conduct acceptable performance tests, at the applicant's expense, in accordance with R 336.2001 and R 336.2003, under any of the conditions listed in R 336.2001.

Bronson Plating Co Permit No. 331-99 Page No. 4 November 19, 1999

SPECIAL CONDITIONS November 19, 1999 (12 Special Conditions)

- 1. The hexavalent chromium emission rate from the manual hoist plating process #1, hereinafter "process", with a fume suppressant and wet scrubber, shall not exceed 0.00096 pounds per hour. This condition is necessary to assure compliance with Rule 901.
- 2. The total chromium emission from the process shall not exceed 0.01 milligrams per cubic meter, corrected to 70 degrees Fahrenheit and 29.92 inches Hg. This condition is necessary to assure compliance withRulle 901.
- 3. Applicant shall not operate the process unless the wet scrubber is installed and operating properly. This condition is necessary to assure compliance with the emission limits which have been established pursuant to Rule 901 and with Rule 910.
- 4. The applicant shall submit an approvable malfunction abatement plan to the District Supervisor within 60 days after installation of the wet scrubber. This condition is necessary to assure compliance with Rule 911.
- 5. Applicant shall equip and maintain the wet scrubber with a pressure drop indicator. This condition is necessary to assure compliance with Rule 910.
- 6. The exhaust gases from the process shall be discharged unobstructed vertically upwards to the ambient air from a stack with a maximum diameter of 32 inches at an exit point not less than 23 feet above ground level. This condition is necessary to assure compliance with Rule 901.
- 7. Applicant shall follow the operation and maintenance plan for the fume suppressant that was approved by the District Supervisor, Air Quality Division. This condition is necessary to assure compliance with the requirements of 40 CFR 63.342(f).
- 8. Applicant shall not operate the process unless the chemical fume suppressant is applied to the chrome plating tank in quantities and at a frequency to maintain a surface tension of the bath not to exceed 45 dynes per centimeter at anytime during the operation. Applicant shall monitor the surface tension every 4 hours except as allowed in 40 CFR 63.343(c)(5). This limit and monitoring frequency are based on 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart N.
- 9. Applicant shall use fresh water for any make-up water to the recirculation tank and shall supply this water to the scrubber. This condition is necessary to assure compliance with Rule 910.

- 10. At least once a month, the applicant shall visually inspect the controls to ensure proper drainage, no chromic acid build-up on the packed bed scrubber, and that structural integrity is sound. This condition is necessary to assure compliance with Rules 901 and 910 and with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart N.
- 11. Applicant shall maintain the following records at the facility:
 - a. The amount of fume suppressant purchased.
 - b. Measurements of the surface tension of the bath.
 - c. The frequency of the maintenance addition.
 - d. The amount of material added during the maintenance additions.
 - e. Results of any emission tests requested by the Air Quality Division or U.S.
 - Environmental Protection Agency.
 - f. Daily and monthly inspection records.

Each maintenance record, emission testing record, surface tension measurements record, daily records and monthly records shall identify the electroplating tank, the date, and approximate time of occurence. Records shall be kept on file for a period of at least five years and made available to the Department upon requst. This condition is necessary to assure compliance with Rules 901and 910 and with 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart N.

12. Monitoring and recording of emissions, operating and maintenance information is required to comply with the National Emission Standard for Hazardous Air Pollutants as specified in 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart A and N. All source emissions, operating, and maintenance data shall be kept on file for a period of at least five years and made available to the Department upon request.