SUPPLEMENT TO PERMIT #270-98 Smiths Industries Grand Rapids, Michigan April 14, 2000

GENERAL CONDITIONS

- 1. Rule 201(1) The process or process equipment covered by this permit shall not be reconstructed, relocated, altered, or modified, unless a Permit to Install authorizing such action is issued by the Department, except to the extent such action is exempt from the Permit to Install requirements by any applicable rule.
- 2. Rule 201(4) If the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of the equipment for which this permit has been approved has not commenced within 18 months, or has been interrupted for 18 months, this permit shall become void unless otherwise authorized by the Department. Furthermore, the person to whom this permit was issued, or the designated authorized agent, shall notify the Department via the Supervisor, Permit Section, Air Quality Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 30260, Lansing, Michigan 48909, if it is decided not to pursue the installation, reconstruction, relocation, or alteration of the equipment allowed by this Permit to Install.
- 3. Rule 201(6)(a) If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process equipment located at a stationary source that is subject to the Renewable Operating Permit program requirements pursuant to R 336.1210, trial operation is allowed by this permit if the equipment performs in accordance with the terms and conditions of this Permit to Install and until the appropriate terms and conditions of this Permit to the Renewable Operating Permit. Upon incorporation of the appropriate terms and conditions into the Renewable Operating Permit, this Permit to Install shall become void.
- 4. Rules 201(6)(b) If this Permit to Install is issued for a process or process equipment located at a stationary source that is not subject to the Renewable Operating Permit program requirements pursuant to R 336.1210, operation of the process or process equipment is allowed by this permit if the equipment performs in accordance with the terms and condition of this Permit to Install.
- 5. Rule 201(8) and Section 5510 of Act 451, P.A. 1994 The Department may, after notice and opportunity for a hearing, revoke this Permit to Install if evidence indicates the process or process equipment is not performing in accordance with the terms and conditions of this permit or is violating the Departments' rules or the Clean Air Act.
- 6. Rule 219 The terms and conditions of this Permit to Install shall apply to any person or legal entity that now or hereafter owns or operates the process or process equipment at the location authorized by this Permit to Install. If the new owner or operator submits a written request to the Department pursuant to R 336.1219 and the Department approves the request, this permit will be amended to reflect the change of ownership or operational control. The request must include all of the information required by subrules (1)(a), (b) and (c) of R 336.1219. The written request shall be sent to the District Supervisor, Air Quality Division, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality.
- 7. Rule 901 Operation of this equipment shall not result in the emission of an air contaminant which causes injurious effects to human health or safety, animal life, plant life of significant economic value, or property, or which causes unreasonable interference with the comfortable enjoyment of life and property.

Smiths Industries Permit No. 270-98 April 14, 2000 Page 3

SPECIAL CONDITIONS

16. Applicant shall not operate the solvent mask washer unless all provisions of Rule 336.1707 are met.

- 17. The total volatile organic compound (VOC) emission rate for all emission units at the stationary source shall not exceed 38.9 tons per 12-month rolling time period as determined at the end of each calendar month.
- 18. The emissions of hazardous air pollutants (HAPs), as defined pursuant to Section 112(b) of the Clean Air Act, shall be less than 9.0 tons per year for any individual HAP or 22.5 tons per year for any combination of HAPs at this stationary source. These annual limits shall be based upon a 12-month rolling time period as determined at the end of each calendar month.

- 20. Except for the activities set forth in Rule 212 (1), the applicant shall keep a separate record for each emission unit (including the coating process) at the stationary source:
 - a. For each material used, record the following on a monthly basis:
 - 1. The number of gallons applied.
 - 2. The VOC content in pounds per gallon of coating, minus water, as received and as applied.
 - 3. The amount in gallons of cleanup or purge solvent used and reclaimed.
 - 4. The content in pounds per gallon of each and all HAPS for all coatings, reducers, catalysts, solvent thinners and all other materials containing VOC used at the facility.
 - b. Monthly calculations of the following for all HAPs:
 - 1. Monthly calculation of individual HAP emission rate in tons per month by emission unit.
 - 2. Monthly calculation of aggregate HAPs emission rate in tons per month for all emission units at the stationary source.
 - 3. Monthly calculation of individual HAPs determining a 12-month rolling time period emission rate in tons per year.
 - 4. Monthly calculation of aggregate HAPs determining a 12-month rolling time period emission rate in tons per year.
 - c. Monthly calculations of the following for VOC:
 - 1. Monthly calculation of VOC emission rate in tons per month by emission unit.
 - 2. Monthly calculation of VOCs determining a 12-month rolling time period emission rate in tons per year by emission unit.

This recordkeeping must be done on an individual emission unit basis and with a combined total for the source. This information shall be kept on file for a period of at least five years and made available to the Air Quality Division and/or the United States Environmental Protection Agency staff upon request.