

## STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY SAGINAW BAY DISTRICT OFFICE



July 7, 2017

Mr. Jeff Adler, President Tuscola Energy Inc 7998 M-25 Akron, Michigan 48701

Dear Mr. Adler:

SRN: N7954, Tuscola County

## **VIOLATION NOTICE**

On June 28, 2017, the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) visited your McPherson crude oil production facility located at 6082 Cass City Road in Wisner Township, Michigan. The purpose of this visit was to observe H2S concentration testing.

During the visit, the following violations were noted:

Process Description	Rule/Permit Condition Violated	Comments
McPherson A-1-24		Unburned sour gas being released through storage tank
		thief hatch.

Please initiate actions necessary to correct the cited violations and submit a written response to this Violation Notice by July 28, 2017. The written response should include: the dates the violation occurred; an explanation of the causes and duration of the violation; whether the violation is ongoing; a summary of the actions that have been taken and are proposed to be taken to correct the violation and the dates by which these actions will take place; and what steps are being taken to prevent a reoccurrence.

If Tuscola Energy Inc. believes the above observations or statements are inaccurate or do not constitute violations of the applicable legal requirements cited, please provide appropriate factual information to explain your position.

It should be noted the facility is subject to the conditions of a Consent Order (AQD 37-2015, OOGM 2997) which was effective as of December 17, 2015. The violations presented above may result in stipulated penalties for the facility.

Mr. Jeff Adler Page 2 July 7, 2017

Thank you for your attention to resolving the violation cited above. If you have any questions regarding the violation, or the actions necessary to bring this facility into compliance, please contact me at the telephone number below.

Sincerely,

Bar Witkopp

Environmental Engineer Air Quality Division 989-894-6219

cc/via e-mail: Ms. Lynn Fiedler, DEQ

Ms. Mary Ann Dolehanty, DEQ

Mr. Chris Ethridge, DEQ Mr. Thomas Hess, DEQ Mr. Chris Hare, DEQ

Mr. James Armbruster, DEQ